The official PORSCHE 993 OBD II test drive - Page 3 - Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Notices

The official PORSCHE 993 OBD II test drive

Old 08-23-2009, 04:36 PM
  #31  
993BillW
Super User
 
993BillW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: NE Florida
Posts: 10,244
Default

BTW, today I decided to check my '97 M3 and it only has those 8 flags set. Per the OBDll reader manual the display "DONE" (see photo #2 above) will only display when all flags that the vehicles OBDII system checks and have set (passes). IOW, if the system checks 8 systems and only 7 have set then the text "DONE" will not display.
993BillW is offline  
Old 09-11-2009, 12:37 AM
  #32  
k722070
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
k722070's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: dropping west from East Castle, Alta, Utah
Posts: 1,231
Default

could someone comment on the second column, "Load" of the OBD ll sheet from the first post?

I live in a very steep area, its either uphill or downhill from my home.
I'm having trouble getting the readiness codes to set and thinking maybe its that I need a flat area to run the drive cycle?

thanks in advance.
k722070 is offline  
Old 09-11-2009, 09:32 AM
  #33  
flyingchappy
User
 
flyingchappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lehigh Valley
Posts: 799
Default

Originally Posted by k722070 View Post
could someone comment on the second column, "Load" of the OBD ll sheet from the first post?

I live in a very steep area, its either uphill or downhill from my home.
I'm having trouble getting the readiness codes to set and thinking maybe its that I need a flat area to run the drive cycle?

thanks in advance.
I just went through the driving dance, twice and it worked for me. I am sure that a couple of times during the drive I dipped below the speed range but all in all it worked just fine. Keep it below 2850 rpms to play is safe. It doesn't matter if you are driving uphills or down, I did both. I would assume that under load means you are putting a road force load on the engine, just regular driving and not sitting still on spindles in your garage.
flyingchappy is offline  
Old 02-03-2010, 10:05 PM
  #34  
gonzilla
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
gonzilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 3,726
Default

Originally Posted by Lorenfb View Post
"After letting the 993 sit (cool) for about 4 hrs. I decided to try the second run"

Yes, that's the procedure, i.e. two trips not necessarily a 4 hr wait between.
When all elements of the emission system are working properly, it's that easy.
Sorry for having to dig this one up...

Going to attempt this tomorrow. Can I just start the second run immediately after the first? Like turn the car off, then right back on and drive?
gonzilla is offline  
Old 02-03-2010, 11:24 PM
  #35  
993BillW
Super User
 
993BillW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: NE Florida
Posts: 10,244
Default

Originally Posted by gonzilla View Post
Sorry for having to dig this one up...

Going to attempt this tomorrow. Can I just start the second run immediately after the first? Like turn the car off, then right back on and drive?
It's good that you're digging up old threads, better than rehashing the same thing over in a new thread.

No, you have to let it cool down a bit. How long, I don't know. I suspect your ambient temps will impact how long it needs to cool. Shortest I've waited was 3 hrs. but if I was doing it now in our cool weather I would give 2 hrs. a try.

Last edited by 993BillW; 02-04-2010 at 02:12 AM.
993BillW is offline  
Old 02-03-2010, 11:25 PM
  #36  
Chuck W.
Addict
Rennlist Member

 
Chuck W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Agoura Hills (Los Angeles) California
Posts: 4,465
Default

Originally Posted by gonzilla View Post
Sorry for having to dig this one up...

Going to attempt this tomorrow. Can I just start the second run immediately after the first? Like turn the car off, then right back on and drive?
I did. I actually did it three times in a row to make sure I covered it. And it did. Next time I only did it twice in a row. And it worked that time too. Perhaps next time I try it just once!
Chuck W. is offline  
Old 02-03-2010, 11:35 PM
  #37  
993BillW
Super User
 
993BillW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: NE Florida
Posts: 10,244
Default

Originally Posted by Chuck W. View Post
I did. I actually did it three times in a row to make sure I covered it. And it did. Next time I only did it twice in a row. And it worked that time too. Perhaps next time I try it just once!
You did the runs one after the other? I would have thought the O2 Sensor Heater test would require the car to have cooled down. I've been wrong before though.

I'll be unplugging my battery in a few days, I'll test it after that.
993BillW is offline  
Old 02-04-2010, 02:04 AM
  #38  
Chuck W.
Addict
Rennlist Member

 
Chuck W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Agoura Hills (Los Angeles) California
Posts: 4,465
Default

Yeah, I may have been good after the first run and the others didn't do anything.
Chuck W. is offline  
Old 02-04-2010, 02:11 AM
  #39  
993BillW
Super User
 
993BillW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: NE Florida
Posts: 10,244
Default

I was just reviewing the doc in the 1st post, for cycle #3 (SAI) it requires an engine temp. between 12c and 60c which is 53F and 140F. Don't really know what impact that has on his question though.
993BillW is offline  
Old 02-04-2010, 03:59 AM
  #40  
gonzilla
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
gonzilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 3,726
Default

Originally Posted by 993BillW View Post
I was just reviewing the doc in the 1st post, for cycle #3 (SAI) it requires an engine temp. between 12c and 60c which is 53F and 140F. Don't really know what impact that has on his question though.
I don't think that matters. I think they're just saying that the engine temp has to be in that range for that particular readiness test.

I'd love to hear definitively if I have to wait for any period of time before I start the second run. I'd hate to ruin it by waiting too long/not waiting long enough!
gonzilla is offline  
Old 02-04-2010, 11:35 AM
  #41  
993BillW
Super User
 
993BillW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: NE Florida
Posts: 10,244
Default

Originally Posted by gonzilla View Post
I don't think that matters. I think they're just saying that the engine temp has to be in that range for that particular readiness test.

I'd love to hear definitively if I have to wait for any period of time before I start the second run. I'd hate to ruin it by waiting too long/not waiting long enough!
I'm not an expert but I would think if the engine is not in that temp range then it won't conduct that test and if it doesn't conduct that readiness test it won't reset the indicators.

An easy way to verify one way or the other is to use a OBDII tester and follow what I did in posts 28 & 29. You can do the first run, leave the tester hooked up, shut the car off for a few min. and then start the car up and run it again. The tester will tell you if the readiness indicators set. If they don't after the second run then shut the car off and let it cool for a couple of hours and run it again.

I'll be happy to test it this w/e if the weather cooperates, I need to disconnect the battery anyway. My previous 993 Cab reset very easily, I'll see if this one is just as easy to do. Of course it helps that I have great roads near where I live to do this, I have 3 routes that I've run from my house, any one works fine.

You're not going to ruin the test by waiting too long, it just needs 2 complete/successful runs to set the readiness indicators. Personally I've run 1 pass on 1 day, let the car sit overnight and run the second run the next day and the RI's set after the 2nd run.
993BillW is offline  
Old 02-04-2010, 12:11 PM
  #42  
ecobb993
User
 
ecobb993's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: E Cobb (N Atlanta) GA
Posts: 422
Default

I'm the proud original submitter of the "BMW Readiness Code Set Routine" and wanted to remind those that are interested that it was entered on our DIY forum a few years ago: https://rennlist.com/forums/993-1995...t-routine.html

Again, it has worked for me quite nicely for years. I have a laptop diag app that tells me the readiness codes/status which always confirms the routine's success.

I've just ordered the parts to finally end this foolishness with a SAI port cleanout (I hope!).
ecobb993 is offline  
Old 02-04-2010, 02:50 PM
  #43  
993BillW
Super User
 
993BillW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: NE Florida
Posts: 10,244
Default

Originally Posted by ecobb993 View Post
I'm the proud original submitter of the "BMW Readiness Code Set Routine" and wanted to remind those that are interested that it was entered on our DIY forum a few years ago: https://rennlist.com/forums/993-1995...t-routine.html

Again, it has worked for me quite nicely for years. I have a laptop diag app that tells me the readiness codes/status which always confirms the routine's success.

I've just ordered the parts to finally end this foolishness with a SAI port cleanout (I hope!).
Yes JC, I've used your BMW sequence many times (even on my BMW believe it or not) and also given you the credit in several threads. Thank you very much, it's worked wonderfully for me. Now I'm just going to see how short a "cool down" time I need between passes.
993BillW is offline  
Old 02-04-2010, 08:12 PM
  #44  
gonzilla
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
gonzilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 3,726
Default

GOOD LORD! I just finished my 1st drive following the BMW sequence. It took me an hour and a half. It's tough to find suitable places to do this here in LA!

Here's today's questions. Can I wait until tomorrow to do it again, or do I have to start another driving sequence immediately (or within 4 hours or whatever)? Also the next time I start my car do I have to do the sequence to complete it? Or can I go get gas first? I've only got about 1/8 of a tank left and I have my doubts as to whether that's going to cut it or not.
gonzilla is offline  
Old 02-04-2010, 10:46 PM
  #45  
993BillW
Super User
 
993BillW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: NE Florida
Posts: 10,244
Default

Originally Posted by gonzilla View Post
GOOD LORD! I just finished my 1st drive following the BMW sequence. It took me an hour and a half. It's tough to find suitable places to do this here in LA!

Here's today's questions. Can I wait until tomorrow to do it again, or do I have to start another driving sequence immediately (or within 4 hours or whatever)? Also the next time I start my car do I have to do the sequence to complete it? Or can I go get gas first? I've only got about 1/8 of a tank left and I have my doubts as to whether that's going to cut it or not.
To answer your 1st question, Yes, you can let the car sit overnight, that's what I was doing the first 3 or 4 times I had to set the RI's. It was only later that I started making the second run 3 or 4 hrs after the first.

On my roads, 1/8 tank of gas would be plenty to make the 2nd run, however it sounds like you have a harder time finding those roads. This is my suggestion for you, I would do as much of the 2nd run as you can on your way to get gas. When you get to the station DON"T shut the car off, let it idle. Put whatever gas you need and then continue with the remainder of the 2nd. run. If you can't do that, just get your gas, take the car home, wait a few hrs. and then do the second run. Just don't take the car over 3k RPM on the gas run.

Best of luck.
993BillW is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: The official PORSCHE 993 OBD II test drive


Contact Us About Us Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: