993 Forum 1995-1998

New stereo in 993 S -- Need Avice

Search this Thread

Old 06-15-2008, 03:53 AM
Jeffrey Tucker
Track Day

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New stereo in 993 S -- Need Avice

Last week a local car audio shop replaced the stock stereo system in my 1997 993 S. I am not an audio expert, but here were my directives to the installer:

-Replace stock CR-210 head unit with an iPod compatible unit (he recommended Alpine 9886).

-Replace the stock speakers with higher quality speakers (he recommended Planet Audio speakers). The new speakers must fit within the existing speaker holes (i.e., keep it looking stock).

-Install a high quality amp (he recommended PowerBass ASA 700.5) in the front trunk.

-Keep total costs under $2,000.

Well, I picked up the car a few days ago and could not be more disappointed. I love the iPod compatibility, but the entire system sounds horrible. There is absolutely no mid or bass tones. In fact, at even moderately high volumes, the bass notes overwhelm the speakers. To characterize it, I'd say it sounds very "thin". Also, when the engine RPMs rise, the radio buzzes (sounds like poorly placed or poorly insulated wires).

I played around with the amp settings and was able to marginally improve the sound, but it's still horrible--and playing with the bass and treble only made a marginal difference. For reference, I had a similar setup in my old 964 (Pioneer head unit, Kenwood speakers, Kenwood amp) with stock-sized speakers. That system was fantastic and only cost $1,500. I spent $1,700 on the 993 system.

The car is going back on Monday, as I let the installer know I wasn't happy. He thinks I need a different amp, although he wasn't sure if I needed a larger or smaller one. The shop in quesiton is a reputable car stereo shop and is known by the Porsche dealer.