Notices

Test only center failed on "functional test" HELP!!!

 
Old 11-03-2007, 04:21 PM
  #1  
BanMeNot
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 34
Default Test only center failed on "functional test" HELP!!!

Hi all,
I ran test only center this morning that required by California DMV and fail on Functional Check.
The smoke mechanic said car computer had been reset and no codes been read. He asked had I reset my computer or power outage. Then I mentioned I recently replace the battery. He asked me for reset the computer into normal either by driving car for several miles or reset by Porsche mechanic.
I feel wired, I had mine for a year, the check engine light never came up. I don't think that is the reason to fail the test.

Did he failed the test with appropriate procedures? Any experienced smoke tech can chime in?

How can I make my car ready to pass test? Do I need a "hammer" to reset the computer as he said?If that is truth can someone live near San Francisco can borrower it?

Anyone have a honorable test only center to perform the test? I smell some fishy when testing is performed.

I can scan the smoke check report if anyone like to see it

Thanks in advance.

Keith
BanMeNot is offline  
Old 11-03-2007, 05:09 PM
  #2  
Hank
User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA
Posts: 93
Default

Where are you? Nevermind I can read now.
Hank is offline  
Old 11-03-2007, 06:48 PM
  #3  
zoaatc11
User
 
zoaatc11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NorCal
Posts: 174
Default

Call the DMV and get an appointment with a smog referee. They are state run and can pass you without the function test. Just did it in aug. Same problem........
zoaatc11 is offline  
Old 11-03-2007, 08:23 PM
  #4  
epj993
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
epj993's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 1,352
Default

When you replaced the battery, the emission monitors were reset. This prevents people from clearing any fault codes to get certified. And, the shop can't issue a smog cert if the monitors are in a "not ready" state. There's also a drive cycle that can be performed to set the monitors to "ready", but you need a lot of road and need to follow it exactly. Probably the best way to reset them is to get out and drive. It took me about 600 miles total doing a variety of city & highway driving.

BTW, here in California you can pay your registration fees without the smog cert to aviod any penalties. However, the DMV won't issue the tag until your car passes.
epj993 is offline  
Old 11-03-2007, 08:45 PM
  #5  
MarkD
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
MarkD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Still here...
Posts: 6,962
Default

Originally Posted by BanMeNot View Post
Hi all,
I ran test only center this morning that required by California DMV and fail on Functional Check.
The smoke mechanic said car computer had been reset and no codes been read. He asked had I reset my computer or power outage. Then I mentioned I recently replace the battery. He asked me for reset the computer into normal either by driving car for several miles or reset by Porsche mechanic.
I feel wired, I had mine for a year, the check engine light never came up. I don't think that is the reason to fail the test.

Did he failed the test with appropriate procedures? Any experienced smoke tech can chime in?

How can I make my car ready to pass test? Do I need a "hammer" to reset the computer as he said?If that is truth can someone live near San Francisco can borrower it?

Anyone have a honorable test only center to perform the test? I smell some fishy when testing is performed.

I can scan the smoke check report if anyone like to see it

Thanks in advance.

Keith
It is pretty easy to get the readiness codes to set.
If they were helpful, they might have given you the driving sequence it takes to get various codes to "ready" state.

I bought a $40 OBDII reader so I could see when they were "ready". Saved me a couple of trips to the smog station since it didn't work the first time around. Simply driving hundreds of miles will likely not work since the type of driving it takes is really abnormal. Eventually, they would set but it could take a year
Do the sequence below (twice) and you will be good to go. This has become known as the "BMW" readiness code driving sequence since it was pulled form a BMW board, however, all OBDII cars have some sort of sequence required to test sensors and set to ready. The times on this list are overkill and will make it certain that they are set:

Start engine, idle cold for approx. 2 min, 10 secs.

Accelerate to 20-30 MPH, Maintain steady speed for approx 3 min, 15 secs.

Accelerate to 40-60 MPH, Maintain steady speed for approx 15 mins.

Decelerate and come to a stop. Idle in gear for approx 5 mins.

Following the start engine phase the sequence of test conditions may be interchanged.

Routine will be discontinued whenever:

Engine speed exceeds 3000 RPM
Large fluctuations in throttle angle
Road speed exceeds 60 MPH


Note: on M/T cars you do NOT have to leave the car in gear with the clutch in for 5 minutes. Neutral works just fine.

Also, attached is the Posrche specific doc that covers the 993 requirements for code resets. Not quite as user friendly.
Attached Images
File Type: pdf
readiness code 993-1997-07.pdf (18.9 KB, 142 views)
MarkD is offline  
Old 11-04-2007, 01:11 AM
  #6  
Jim Morton
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,661
Default

Keith:

You have not said what year 96-98 993 you have.

For what ever reason, my experience either owning or helping local 993 folks is that the 1996 cars tend to be a bit more cranky to get all 6 codes set without the use of a Porsche PST2 diagnostics tester. The PST2 lets you set 2 of the 6 codes by running "short" tests for the SAI and cat functions. However...

If you don't even want to even mess with the readiness codes, the good news is that CA DMV / BAR has the 96-98 993 Porsche listed such that you can go straight to a referee station for testing.

Here in NorCal, the referee stations are usually found at Jr. College Auto Tech. facilities. Given this, the fees are a whopping $38.50, out the door.

Given the test only station pricing, this is a deal and gets you done in one stop. Personally, I have used the ref. station at College of Alameda and my P-Cars. My cars have been joined by some Ferarri's and Lambo's doing the same smog test routine while I was there.

If you have a 97 or 98, you can try the drive procedure, but I would not try it more than a couple of times before opting out for the ref. station option. It's just too easy ( and cheaper ).

$0.02
Jim Morton is offline  
Old 11-06-2007, 03:35 PM
  #7  
g_murray
User
 
g_murray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,303
Default

Hi,
Here in NY - if the car's computer shows that the 'readiness codes' are NOT set -- then you fail. The DMV/testing station DOES NOT CARE that the car is 'fine' and that the CEL is OFF. The fact that the car is 'not READY for inspection' - is grounds enuf for a 'failure'. Harsh, yes, IMHO.
This 'not ready state' can happen as a result of installing a new battery or clearing a CEL (check engine light) condition with a code scanner or yanking the ECM fuse(s) etc.
The PO of my car, let the battery die, coz he just didn't drive it. It took OVER 800 miles of 'various types of driving' for me to get all (8) monitors to show 'ready'. Then and only then could I get it to fully pass. I have made bloody sure since then (3 years ago) to NEVER let the battery go bye-bye - using a trickle charger during the winter-time -- as most of us (on this forum do.)
It's a pity you didn't swop out the battery AFTER you had it inspected - then you'd have a YEAR to get the ECM to play-nice.
Oh well, lessons learned.
FWIW, a bunch of us have been thru' this -- so my advice is to do a SEARCH and get all the info you can/need on OBD-ii -- and those pesky readiness-monitors.

Gerry
g_murray is offline  
Old 11-06-2007, 08:33 PM
  #8  
Don Plumley
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Don Plumley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Geyserville, CA
Posts: 1,104
Default

I have passed CA emissions without my readiness codes set through the smog referee. I gave up after driving 300 miles. PM me for details.
Don Plumley is offline  
Old 11-07-2007, 07:22 PM
  #9  
B-Line
Super User
 
B-Line's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hollywood, Los Angeles
Posts: 2,060
Default

Do not waste your time trying to reset your codes by doing endless "drive arounds"..

How can you maintain speed of 20-40mph for 3 minutes? Unless you live on an airport runway..

Go to the referee station. It will save you a lot of grief.

B
B-Line is offline  
Old 11-07-2007, 08:27 PM
  #10  
MarkD
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
MarkD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Still here...
Posts: 6,962
Default

Originally Posted by B-Line View Post
Do not waste your time trying to reset your codes by doing endless "drive arounds"..

How can you maintain speed of 20-40mph for 3 minutes? Unless you live on an airport runway..

Go to the referee station. It will save you a lot of grief.

B
Not "endless drive arounds"... specific driving.
I don't live near or on a runway, wasn't a problem. Took 2 shots at it and about 30 minutes of my life... wasn't too traumatic.
Driving sequence is what sets the readiness codes.
Most "normal" driving won't.
See sequence above.
Or go to a referee station... whatever floats yer boat.
MarkD is offline  
Old 11-07-2007, 11:40 PM
  #11  
Chuck W.
Addict
Rennlist Member

 
Chuck W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Agoura Hills (Los Angeles) California
Posts: 4,548
Default

Originally Posted by Don Plumley View Post
I have passed CA emissions without my readiness codes set through the smog referee. I gave up after driving 300 miles. PM me for details.
Same here. The referee is the way to go. And take your reciept from the smog station with you and they will deduct it. Good Luck
Chuck W. is offline  
Old 11-09-2007, 01:47 AM
  #12  
BanMeNot
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 34
Default

Thank you for all your warm reply!!
I went to referee center at Skyline College today and it Passed. Thanks God!

P.S. The nice technician deducted that smoke fee as well.

Keith
BanMeNot is offline  
Old 05-27-2018, 02:35 AM
  #13  
Cassie Vinzant
New User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 1
Default Hello

Originally Posted by Don Plumley View Post
I have passed CA emissions without my readiness codes set through the smog referee. I gave up after driving 300 miles. PM me for details.
How do I do this?
​​​​​​
Cassie Vinzant is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Test only center failed on "functional test" HELP!!!


Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: