Sponsored by:

Two post lifts compared to mid rise...

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-2006, 01:22 AM
Mike J
Addict
Lifetime Rennlist

Received 71 Likes on 58 Posts
Default Two post lifts compared to mid rise...

I have been debating about a mid-rise lift vs. a two post. I have fairly tall ceilings in the garage (10' +) but most two post lifts won't fit.

Does anyone have any experience with these units? They are priced right since they are not much more than a mid-rise lift and the dimensions will fit my garage.

I am a contractor so I will pour extra large footings so the unit will be installed "right" so that part is not a problem. I also have lots of room so having two posts is also not a problem.

I have not searched too far yet but many people on the list are happy with the Greg Smith mid lifts so how about these?

Greg Smith Two Post - 8000lbs

Greg Smith Two Post - 9000lbs

Any opinions?

Cheers,

Mike
Old 11-13-2006, 04:27 AM
BrokenE
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Mike, in the sep 06 edition of Roundel mag, there's an article about a guy who installed a Forward9000B lift into his 10' ceiling garage. The 9000B is a 2 post lift.

http://www.forwardlift.com/
http://www.forwardmfg.com/pdfs/TwoPost.pdf

If i had the room for it, I would go with the 2 post lift because it gives you much better accessibility. Plus I think it would be more stable too.
Old 11-13-2006, 09:48 AM
Garth S
Rennlist Member

Received 16 Likes on 13 Posts

With a base plate style two-post, 10+ ft ceilings should do nicely - the floor pan to roof of a 993 is ~3'8", which is the critical dimension to subtract from available height. The first lift (8000#) shown is equipped with symmetric arms - go for an asymmetric arm option ..... it greatly increases the utility of a lift IMHO, as it allows wider opening of the cars doors.