Incredible piece of driving, Lovely Pix, Amalfi Coast

Search this Thread

Old 10-20-2006, 12:51 AM
CP
Race Director

Received 334 Likes on 239 Posts
Default Incredible piece of driving, Lovely Pix, Amalfi Coast

Hi Folks,

I just came back from a Eastern Mediterranean Cruise. One of the shore excursions took us from Naples east along the coastline to Amalfi. That is one of the most incredible drives I have ever been on. The scenery is to die for, but the drive impresed me much more.

The whole roadway is but about 12'-14' wide. Shear cliff down to the sea on one side, solid rock cliff to the heavens on the other side. Tight and windy and lot's of grades. When two cars pass each other, most of the time, one car has to back up to the very edge before the opposing car can squeeze by. I was in a tour bus, and I must say that the bus driver is the best driver I have ever ridden with. I thought I am an adequate driver, but honestly I would not be able to drive a manual car along this road. Just the thought of backing up a steep hill, inches from the shear cliff, to allow the opposing car/bus to pass just freaks me out. An automatic transmission, may be, definitely not a manual.

I have one shot of the profile of the road way. They had to cantilever the road out 4' or so from the cliff face to get to the current road width. I am a civil/structural engineer by training, and I could not figure out how they could cantilever the road out as such. Simply an amazing engineering feat.

For those of you who have the pleasure of driving this part of the world, you would know what I mean.

People say that the drive is similar to the Pacific Coast Highway down to Big Sur. I say the Amalfi Coast drive is MUCH prettier. I have driven to Big Sur numerous times, and there is no contest IMHO.

I have a few pics of the area, mostly from inside the bus. Enjoy.

CP
Attached Images      
Old 10-20-2006, 12:53 AM
nota_troll
Rennlist Member

Received 7 Likes on 4 Posts