Go Back  Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums > Water Cooled Technical Discussion Areas > 991
Reload this Page >

Are most people using /recommending Xpel or other film for a new car?

Notices
Sponsored by:

Are most people using /recommending Xpel or other film for a new car?

Old 08-06-2015, 05:58 PM
96redLT4
Super User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Are most people using /recommending Xpel or other film for a new car?

Sometime in the future, I have a new GTS coming and am wondering about using one of these products. I have never used them or thought it necessary before, trying to quick detail the bugs etc off after every few drives. Do you guys think it is worth the fairly significant cost and if so what brand?
Jim
Old 08-06-2015, 06:04 PM
fastdiablo
User

Been doing quite a bit of research on this myself and XPel seems to have the best reputation, but the installer is just as if not more important.
Most folks seem to get the full hood, fenders and front bumper. I'm learning it's also advised to add rocker panels. Full doors will probably also make my final spec to avoid door dings. I'm seeing quotes around 3-5K.
Old 08-06-2015, 06:12 PM
STG
Super User

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I got SunTek. Very good film too and better than XPel in some ways. All has been posted before. Lots and lots of posts on this. But agreed, installer is key!!

Premier has a good rep up in NoCal

Regardless, getting PPF is a great idea. Get a good installer and don't go with the cheapest guy. Pay for experience.

Full front bumper, hood, and front fenders are a must with a low car like the 911
Old 08-06-2015, 06:34 PM
ipse dixit
Super User

Received 12 Likes on 8 Posts

Originally Posted by 96redLT4 View Post