Notices
991 2012-2019
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Detailers! - what are these white spots on my Targa 4S?

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2015, 07:46 PM
Sharm
Pro

Received 75 Likes on 43 Posts
Default Detailers! - what are these white spots on my Targa 4S?

I was doing a quick lookover of my car and noticed these white "dots" above the wheelarches (not sure if I'm describing the area correctly, but you can see it above). Since this is a widebody 4S that area juts out a little more and is exposed to the elements more so I guess thats why they're there - I used a quick-detailer solution to try and remove them but they seem embedded in the paint slightly. What are they and how do I remove them?! I am by no means an expert detailer..

thanks
Old 04-05-2015, 07:51 PM
ArtF10
Instructor

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts

Looks like rock chips in the clear film. That's what the film is for. It protects the paint. The film can be replaced much easier than the paint.
Old 04-05-2015, 07:56 PM
chuck911
Race Car

Received 58 Likes on 40 Posts

Doesn't look like paint to me Sharm, it looks like protective film. You can see the edge of the film- the light line on the left, black line on the right. I'm not seeing any spots on the paint, its all inside those lines.

They most likely are indeed imbedded. Your best bet when dealing with anything like this is start gently with detail spray. You can do it twice but that's it, and never use any pressure. Next use clay. Finally, polish. If you polish, wax.

In this case, being film, you can still do those same steps. Understand however that being film what will usually happen is the material will slowly over time fill in those spots. Yes they will disappear over time. But don't worry, I predict plenty of new ones to take their place!
Old 04-05-2015, 08:18 PM
Sharm
Pro