Notices
968 Forum 1992-1995

XPOST from the H2o forum - Tranny mounts...

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2009, 09:14 PM
phil0618
Racer

Received 7 Likes on 2 Posts
Default XPOST from the H2o forum - Tranny mounts...

Hi all,

I'm getting that loving feeling toward the 968 and want to do some maintenance.

I'm a cruiser/daily driver and not a racer and I'm interested in replacing some worn out pieces that might be contributing to noise and vibration.

The car is in otherwise excellent shape with major maintenance - belts, water pump, clutch, motor mounts, fluids, etc. having been done about 8k miles ago.

Any other worn out items that might contribute to noise/vibration that I should consider replacing while I'm on my quest?

While I'm here, here is my bonus question.

Why aren't wheel bearings (especially front bearings) scheduled for routine maintenance/replacement?

It would seem that they are clearly under a lot of stress, that their life would be a function of mileage (and driving style of course), and that they are not that expensive or difficult to do.

Do ****-retentive types simply replace them at some point or do people generally just wait till they hear strange noises or experience other odd behaviors?

Inquiring minds want to know.

Cheers,

Phil
Old 02-10-2009, 10:54 AM
RajDatta
Rennlist Member

Received 22 Likes on 14 Posts

I think in normal street driving, wheel bearings should easily last 100k. If you track your car, then it would need to be dealt with more often. The fronts are very easy to do and don't require any special tools. Rears are a bit more involved and require a bearing puller.
My cabriolet has close to 120k miles and there is no idication of bearing issues yet. On the other hand, my SY M030 coupe had the rears replaced at 80k. The previous owner used it for DE's and that probably added to the additional wear.
Raj
Old 02-10-2009, 11:59 AM
PorscheG96
Race Car

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts