Sponsored by:

A Newbie (albeit an excited one)........ Question

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2012, 05:55 PM
cumd20
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking A Newbie (albeit an excited one)........ Question

OK guys - I am new - so get the laughs out of the way when I ask stoopid questions - but let me know it is stoopid also

I have just bought the ugly duckling - 1994 964 Speedster with the Strosek Wide Body that was snapped at a dealer in Dallas and posted here on this site elsewhere - yes the black one with the inflated ego for a previous owner that spent twice the price of the (already great) car on modification parts. The one that a lot of folks think was ugly and should have been left well alone

But you see - to me it is a swan, I just absolutely love the shape of this thing - don't get me wrong, I also love the narrow body original shipped 94 Speedster and you will never hear me criticize that car - but this is another level of beauty to me.

Anyway - I am new to the site but am a pretty savvy motorhead and have built cars in my past - so no need to be too gentle.

Here is my question - in future I will be more succinct - there is a lot of writing on here speculating on numbers of production etc of the speedster - consensus on this site and every other I can find - is that 430 factory machines or so made it to the USA. Can anyone tell me if we have concluded the final VIN range on the USA machines. Mine has the RS465403 ending so I would assume it is close to the end of the USA production line of VIN's but then there are conflicting views on where the count starts from (60 for testing or not).

I have read a number of sites for hours in the last few days (while I wait for my new toy to arrive 2500 miles on a truck) - but with no success,

I appreciate your help - btw other cars are a 1999 Range Rover HSE, 2006 Cayenne, 2007 MB CL550.
Old 02-26-2012, 06:05 PM
Rocket Rob
IHI KING!
Rennlist Member

Received 222 Likes on 176 Posts