Sponsored by:

Audiophiles???

Search this Thread

Old 05-31-2010, 01:55 AM
danburke
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Audiophiles???

Hi there fellow 964 drivers. What do I do when my radio is stock and my speakers are all... blown.... by he previous owner. Anyone got the audio thing nailed down? I'm a musician and audiophile so I'd prefer some nice sounds and would love your ideas/ experience.

Thanks!
Old 05-31-2010, 03:06 AM
Cam Arnott
Rennlist Member

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

Dan its a Porsche, all of the music you need comes from the rear More loud pedal !
Old 05-31-2010, 03:06 AM
anto1150
Pro

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

If you want to leave your stock radio, go with Infinity Kappa series speackers and you'll be ok. If you add a little good amplifier under the passenger's seat you'll be happy.
P.S. do not use original crossovers; use the Infinity one or, better, a custom made one (that's the core of the system).

ciao
Old 05-31-2010, 11:00 AM
psiegel
Racer

Received 15 Likes on 3 Posts

As an Audiophile you know it can get expensive so it all depends on how much you want to spend and what you want to accomplish. I wanted a decent system that had the ability to play CD, I pod and satellite radio all integrated with good full range sound at a moderate price installed. I also wanted the system to not jump in your face (looks wise) and take away from the simplicity of the interior of our cars. So I installed the following and am very please with the outcome:
Head unit: Alpine CDA-0887
Amp: Focal Solid 4- Located in the trunk mounted vertically on a board attached to my strut brace.