Notices
964 Forum
Sponsored By:
Sponsored By:

Throttle Positon Sensor for data logging

 
Old 03-20-2010, 12:17 PM
  #1  
Jan-Terje
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Jan-Terje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 49
Default Throttle Positon Sensor for data logging

I'm looking for a TPS - Throttle Position Sensor for my data logger. And found that TIP-cars might have this. According to PET part no 964 606 115 00 is a throttle-walve switch. I can't understand the need for just another switch, there is already a WOT switch and an idle switch, so I was hoping that this part actually is a position sensor. Looking at the wiring diagrams, it seems the same part is called a Throttle Valve Potentiometer (sheet 5, coordinates C 50).

Can anyone on here confirm this ?

Will this part fit my non TIP engine ? or is the shaft of the throttle valve somewhat different ...

If anybody has tips on other TPS sources on the net I'd appreciate it.
Jan-Terje is offline  
Old 03-20-2010, 02:10 PM
  #2  
roblav
User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: CT
Posts: 78
Default

You can grab the signal from the stock TPS wire to the data logger. I'm about to do that with my AIM system on my formula car.
roblav is offline  
Old 03-20-2010, 03:34 PM
  #3  
IanR
User
 
IanR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 423
Default

Originally Posted by roblav View Post
You can grab the signal from the stock TPS wire to the data logger. I'm about to do that with my AIM system on my formula car.
AFAIK, there's no TPS on a standard manual 964.

I've got a Race Technology DL1 data logger and alos want to log throttle position - RT sell a couple of sensors that could be used, a linear one that could be used on the throttle peddle, or a rotational pot for the throttle itself. As yet I don't know if/how to fit one of these - http://www.race-technology.com/conte...?pcat=2&cat=34
IanR is offline  
Old 03-20-2010, 04:16 PM
  #4  
Jan-Terje
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Jan-Terje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 49
Default

Originally Posted by IanR View Post
As yet I don't know if/how to fit one of these - http://www.race-technology.com/conte...?pcat=2&cat=34
I've been looking at that one too. But there is no info on the size of that D-shaped hole. Not sure if it will fit on the end of the throttle valve shaft.
Jan-Terje is offline  
Old 03-20-2010, 07:25 PM
  #5  
joey bagadonuts
Addict
Rennlist Member

 
joey bagadonuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Highland Park, IL
Posts: 3,606
Default

If you do a search using "TPS" as a search term, you'll find more info. Here's a link to the AiM potentiometer a number of my track friends use on their manual 964's.

http://www.aim-sportline.com/downloa...ot_eng_101.pdf

In one discussion thread, Geoffrey metions that You can replace the TPS with one from a 944 Turbo which has both. Some rewiring will be required, but you'll be able to provide the Motronics ECU with the binary switch information and your data logging system can use the linear potentiometer.

Unfortunately, there does not appear to be a simple solution.
joey bagadonuts is offline  
Old 03-20-2010, 08:05 PM
  #6  
roblav
User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: CT
Posts: 78
Default

So throttle position is not a feedback to the 964 ECU?
roblav is offline  
Old 03-21-2010, 06:54 AM
  #7  
NineMeister
Addict
Rennlist
Site Sponsor

 
NineMeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Cheshire, England
Posts: 4,344
Default

The stock 964 manual has a throttle idle contact switch and a full throttle contact switch, both are normally open/close when actuated and work off the plastic cam on the end of the throttle body shaft. The main shaft is 8mm diameter, unfortunately the cam is fitted on a reduced diameter section so there is no provision for a conventional D drive.

The tiptronic 964 and the 993 non-varioram have a throttle position sensor which is a variable resistance (providing the ecu with a 0-5V (well, more like 0.3V to 4.5V) signal from idle to flat out). The sensor used on these throttle bodies fits on the usual 8mm D drive.

Unfortunately you can't easily convert your manual ecu to run on a TPS rather than the switches and neither is it easy to fit a 8mm D drive TPS to the manual throttle body, so in a nutshell you have no choice but to fit a secondary sensor to the throttle linkage, cable or pedal.
NineMeister is offline  
Old 03-21-2010, 07:47 AM
  #8  
Jan-Terje
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Jan-Terje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 49
Default

Thanks Collin, I didnt notice the different part numbers on the throttle bodies untill now. I was hoping for an easy fix, but I know they rearly exist

Originally Posted by joey bagadonuts View Post
If you do a search using "TPS" as a search term, you'll find more info. Here's a link to the AiM potentiometer a number of my track friends use on their manual 964's.

http://www.aim-sportline.com/downloa...ot_eng_101.pdf
It would be nice to know what strategies your friends have chosen, pedal cluster or linkage somewhere close to the throttle body ? Maybe asking alot, but a pic of the sensor installed would be really nice
Jan-Terje is offline  
Old 03-21-2010, 11:08 AM
  #9  
roblav
User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: CT
Posts: 78
Default

Colin - thanks for that info. My solution would be to install individual throttle bodies from a Suzuki GSX-R750! Then figure out an ECU.
roblav is offline  
Old 03-21-2010, 11:35 AM
  #10  
joey bagadonuts
Addict
Rennlist Member

 
joey bagadonuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Highland Park, IL
Posts: 3,606
Default

Originally Posted by Jan-Terje View Post
It would be nice to know what strategies your friends have chosen, pedal cluster or linkage somewhere close to the throttle body ? Maybe asking alot, but a pic of the sensor installed would be really nice
I don't have pics and their cars are currently in storage.

The additional sensor was located on the linkage next to the throttle body and the wire exited the engine compartment through the same port as the O2 sensor. Sorry I can't be more specific.
Attached Images  
joey bagadonuts is offline  
Old 03-21-2010, 08:14 PM
  #11  
joey bagadonuts
Addict
Rennlist Member

 
joey bagadonuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Highland Park, IL
Posts: 3,606
Default

I was out, today, with p-car friends and we swung by the warehouse where the cars are stored.
Attached Images    
joey bagadonuts is offline  
Old 03-22-2010, 04:10 PM
  #12  
Jan-Terje
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Jan-Terje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 49
Default

Thank you so much !

But, is this a string pot ?? (similar to this one: http://www.race-technology.com/strin...ring_2_59.html)
Jan-Terje is offline  
Old 03-22-2010, 04:24 PM
  #13  
joey bagadonuts
Addict
Rennlist Member

 
joey bagadonuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Highland Park, IL
Posts: 3,606
Default

Yes, string pot.
joey bagadonuts is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Throttle Positon Sensor for data logging


Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: