Notices
964 Forum 1989-1994
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

The 964 may have to go. :( (towing question too)

Search this Thread

Old 06-02-2006, 02:05 AM
Euromagination
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default The 964 may have to go. :( (towing question too)

Hi all.

I've been fighting with myself for a couple months about what to do in my current situation...

I'm going to soon purchase another sportbike, but this time a Ducati or Aprilia (have not decided which one yet). I only have two cars right now and one of them has to go in order for me to buy the bike. I will then get a less expensive "beater" car to offset the cost of the bike vs. the value of the car I get rid of...

Anyway, I really don't want to get rid of the 964, but I need a car that can tow the bike to the track some days without either getting hurt. Even though it's "not recommended", the Evo can tow a sportbike trailer to the track (I've witnessed it), but I don't think the 964 can just because of its setup. Correct??? I've heard of 964/993 drivers bringing pulling their DE equipment, tires, and tools to the track on a small trailer but I have no idea what those weigh...

Luckily, I don't need to bring tools since a family member I go with always brings those along with his SUV and Ducati 999s. The wet weight of the bike I am buying will be about 450 pounds, plus the weight of the trailer. Not heavy at all...

Please also reference this thread:
https://rennlist.com/forums/964-forum/21827-964-trailer-hitch.html

If this can't work, unfortunately I may have to part with the 964 since I can really only have two "toys", plus a winter car. Right now the Evo is my winter car. Any beater car I bought would probably not be able to tow a bike as it would be an economy car with little power.