Sponsored by: Clore Automotive

Don't know what else to try!

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-2010, 08:29 PM
mhpd31
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Don't know what else to try!

Ok guys, I have been working on my 1988 944turboS for a few months now, and I am at the end of my rope with no clue where to go from here. I will start from the beggining and add as much detail as possible.

When I bought the car, it had a rough idle at startup, and a slight miss once it was warmed up, but nothing drastic. It also had a shutter from a dead stop. I thought these were all problems that could be fixed with a tune up and routine maintenance. As I planned to modify the car anyway, I figured I would do it all at once. instead the modifications just exaggerated the issues.

Modifications were as follows: (all from Lindsey) Billet replacement non diaphragm BOV , Performance tune up pack (black magwires, plugs), 944T 300rwhp package, 944T Quad M mass air flow meter kit, 4 inch exhaust no cat pre muffler 02 bung, polished tip, Black vaccum hose kit, hoses gaskets, etc etc. I got everything put together and all the earlier problems were GREATLY exaggerated. Rough idle, intermittent backfire, car ran out pretty good with boost, but if I did not come out of the hole above 2000 rpm from a stop the "shutter" would kill the car.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t6YiR6Ef7IY