Sponsored by: Clore Automotive

Trade 951 for 996TT?

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-2009, 02:00 PM
DanaT
Three Wheelin'

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Trade 951 for 996TT?

One of the worst possible things happened to me Friday and Saturday.
I finally got all the “special” clutch parts (KEP clutch, Balzack forck, and Ehlring seals)that I wanted used for the car in on Thursday. I also had the complete Vitesse MAF/Piggyback/VFlex/Injector at the house. I don’t have time to put the clutch in (and didn’t have the desire to do the injectors) so I took it to a shop that specializes in Porsches (they are the local 9ff installer/dealer)and does all the inspections for mods for Spec944. In other words, I took the car into a decent place.

When I was there the had a nice ’04 911. I told my wife I needed a 911 (I have wanted a 930 since before I graduated from the University). She normally gets mad at me when I suggest such non-sense. She told me that if I brought the 911 home “we would have a problem” and I agreed. I said that the garage only has three spots and we would have a problem fitting two Porsches into the garage (because the other two spots are taken with the SUVs).

Well, a little later Saturday, she said I have a good enough job to buy a 911 if I want BUT(there is always a but) I would have to get rid of the 951 and the Hayabusa. She is always trying to get rid of the bike. She thinks its unsafe and irresponsible (really she doesn’t want me to get injured on a bike and not be able to work and support the family). The discussion went to if I am getting rid of the bike and the 951, I need something faster than the 951 (especially at altitude) and that I would buy a 911 Turbo (most likely a 996TT). Prices have REALLY come down on these this year.