E-85 MEGA THREAD - Page 3 - Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Notices

E-85 MEGA THREAD

 
Old 11-09-2008, 09:20 PM
  #31  
blown 944
Super User
 
blown 944's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Firestone, Colorado
Posts: 4,826
Default

awesome did you log knock counts??

If so where did you end up for timing @11.5 AFR at high boost for that turbo??

I always like to know the end result of each setup........nosey
blown 944 is offline  
Old 11-09-2008, 10:11 PM
  #32  
jlturpin
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mayflower, AR
Posts: 1,075
Default

I did not get "that" aggressive with timing and there was no Knock detected. I think there is still timing to be added, especially after the turbo begins to drop off. I'll look at my datalog and see what it looks like, I know it pulled like crazy and I have never felt the k26/6 pull like that. Will post more later.
jlturpin is offline  
Old 11-09-2008, 11:41 PM
  #33  
jlturpin
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mayflower, AR
Posts: 1,075
Default

Pulling through a few gears, E85. You should be able to see RPM, Boost, AFR and Timing advance.
jlturpin is offline  
Old 11-09-2008, 11:59 PM
  #34  
blown 944
Super User
 
blown 944's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Firestone, Colorado
Posts: 4,826
Default

that looks pretty good

you may try to add a little fuel up top looks like it may be close to 12:1

actually you could add a little from boost onset and add some timing there too.

just pay attention to knock counts.

You will certainly need to retune with the other turbo for sure as it is dropping off and it looks slightly lean now in the upper rpms it will be much worse with the added cooler air.

What is your rev limiter set at.
blown 944 is offline  
Old 11-10-2008, 01:43 AM
  #35  
95ONE
Super User
 
95ONE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 4,245
Default

Simple steps to prepare for E-85.

replace any old fuel lines to new stock. Don't worry about them for another 5 years.
upgrade injectors and fuel pump to around 40% (safely) More capacity than would be needed for gasoline.
Tune ignition timing like it was on race fuel.
Re-tune AFR's to .8 lambda.

Spend lots of time on the cold start up map..

you're done. .... seriously.
95ONE is offline  
Old 11-10-2008, 01:55 AM
  #36  
DanG
User
 
DanG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 1,594
Default

Here is a Megasquirt website about the flex fuel sensor found on GM vehicles that allow for automatic compensation to whatever blend of regular pump gas and E85 you may have in the tank...

http://www.megamanual.com/flexfuel.htm

DanG is offline  
Old 11-10-2008, 06:07 AM
  #37  
jlturpin
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mayflower, AR
Posts: 1,075
Default

That bad bod is like $400 dollars, great idea and I thought about it until I did my first search and saw the price.
jlturpin is offline  
Old 11-10-2008, 06:12 AM
  #38  
porshhhh951
Monkeys Removed by Request
Lifetime Rennlist
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 7,713
Default

Originally Posted by 95ONE View Post
Simple steps to prepare for E-85.

replace any old fuel lines to new stock. Don't worry about them for another 5 years.
upgrade injectors and fuel pump to around 40% (safely) More capacity than would be needed for gasoline.
Tune ignition timing like it was on race fuel.
Re-tune AFR's to .8 lambda.

Spend lots of time on the cold start up map..

you're done. .... seriously.
What air/fuels am I looking for on my AEM(uego) wideband when I start tuning with E-85?
porshhhh951 is offline  
Old 11-10-2008, 07:18 AM
  #39  
333pg333
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
333pg333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 18,482
Default

Originally Posted by DanG View Post
Here is a Megasquirt website about the flex fuel sensor found on GM vehicles that allow for automatic compensation to whatever blend of regular pump gas and E85 you may have in the tank...

http://www.megamanual.com/flexfuel.htm

So is this sensor something that can be fitted to any car?
333pg333 is offline  
Old 11-10-2008, 07:21 AM
  #40  
333pg333
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
333pg333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 18,482
Default

...and what do we think about this??
http://flexfuelus.com/
333pg333 is offline  
Old 11-10-2008, 07:50 AM
  #41  
porshhhh951
Monkeys Removed by Request
Lifetime Rennlist
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 7,713
Default

Originally Posted by 333pg333 View Post
...and what do we think about this??
http://flexfuelus.com/
Damn
porshhhh951 is offline  
Old 11-10-2008, 09:14 AM
  #42  
Duke
Super User
 
Duke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 5,514
Default

Originally Posted by 333pg333 View Post
So is this sensor something that can be fitted to any car?
The flexifuel sensor looks just like a lambda sensor. But you need an EMS that can run it.
DTA has inbuilt functionality to run a flexifuel sensor. Should be able to do something similar with the Link G4 storm if you're creative.
Duke is offline  
Old 11-10-2008, 09:33 AM
  #43  
jlturpin
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mayflower, AR
Posts: 1,075
Default

WOW, 1200-1300 dollars. Not gonna happen for me.
jlturpin is offline  
Old 11-10-2008, 10:57 AM
  #44  
blown 944
Super User
 
blown 944's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Firestone, Colorado
Posts: 4,826
Default

Originally Posted by porshhhh951 View Post
What air/fuels am I looking for on my AEM(uego) wideband when I start tuning with E-85?
read back to the first page .... those numbers should apply to your wideband as it is calibrated
blown 944 is offline  
Old 11-10-2008, 11:59 AM
  #45  
porshhhh951
Monkeys Removed by Request
Lifetime Rennlist
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 7,713
Default

Originally Posted by blown 944 View Post
read back to the first page .... those numbers should apply to your wideband as it is calibrated
Figures i'd get owned in my own thread. I thought the values were different for the AEM style units.

Something strange like 8.5/9ish a/f.

11.5 is the same a/f im shooting for, for pump fuel. So what you're saying is the values on my readout are going to remain the same between pump fuel and E-85? I never would have thought that.
porshhhh951 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: E-85 MEGA THREAD


Contact Us About Us Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: