Notices
944 Turbo and Turbo-S Forum 1982-1991
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Clore Automotive

Do you think I can do it? -- A front seal and belt change that is!

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-2007, 09:15 AM
majuva33
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Do you think I can do it? -- A front seal and belt change that is!

As the title says. I've been thinking about doing a front seal and belt change myself. I would save quite a bit of money (if I can complete it successfully that is) and also get to know my car better.

I'm an amateur when it comes to mechanics. As a day job, I'm an academic.

My experience with cars so far: I've toyed with cars for most of my life, as a hobby. I used to race a modified production car in the past, so I've taken engines out, replaced engines etc. I've also done a belt change once on a diesel Golf (yes I know, pretty removed from a 951), I do all my own servicing etc.

I've never pulled an engine apart or done anything internally, however. And I've only owned my 951 for around 12 months and it seems to be the most complicated piece of machinery I've ever owned! The engine bay is FULL, it's difficult to get to things etc.etc. I'm worried I won't find TDC on these things and I'm terrified I'll mess up the belts and bend a valve or worse!

I do, however, have reasonable tools and a good shed (as we call them in Australia) to repair the car. The car is a 'weekender' hobby car, so it can stay off the road for a while, without problems. It probably sees around 5000 kms a year, if that.

What do you think? I wouldn't mind hearing other 'amateurs' thoughts on this. And professionals' as well!!!
Old 04-02-2007, 09:56 AM
Burma Shave
Burning Brakes

Easy, just take your time and re-check your work several times.
Old 04-02-2007, 12:30 PM
chrly924s
Three Wheelin'

Received 1 Like on 1 Post