Standalone EMS...? - Page 4 - Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Notices

Standalone EMS...?

 
Old 03-20-2007, 01:18 AM
  #46  
DanG
User
 
DanG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 1,594
Default

Yes, but it monitors it all the time, not just during combustion events. The good news is the sensor amp with the most support was developed specifically for the Bosch knock sensor on our engines.

http://www.viatrack.ca/

With the "-extra" code (that I'll run in my car) you can adjust some parameters, including the amount of timing retard...

http://www.msextra.com/manuals/MS_Ex...nual.htm#knock

Here's a screenshot of the knock sensing settings...



Its not the best system out there, but its decent.
DanG is offline  
Old 03-20-2007, 02:10 AM
  #47  
Raceboy
User
 
Raceboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Estonia
Posts: 1,597
Default

Originally Posted by DanG
!
Its the ugly red-headed stepchild of the industry, which I'd like to blame primarily on its uber-low entry fee, and predictably uber-low experience level of the cheapskates and forum geeks that use it. .

Well put

But MS v2.2 is not up to the task on some high-cylinder/high rpm engines. This requires at least MS II.
Raceboy is offline  
Old 03-20-2007, 11:55 AM
  #48  
Chris White
Addict
Rennlist Member

Rennlist Small
Business Sponsor

 
Chris White's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Marietta, NY
Posts: 7,355
Default

The Megasquirt stuff is actually pretty nice – but not for you average ‘turn key’ customer!
Chris White is offline  
Old 03-20-2007, 02:05 PM
  #49  
nize
Banned
 
nize's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: seattle, washington - usa
Posts: 1,822
Default

i'm curious why somebody hasn't made a turn-key megasquirt for the 951 community.
nize is offline  
Old 03-20-2007, 06:21 PM
  #50  
DFASTEST951
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
DFASTEST951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Las Vegas NV
Posts: 2,831
Default

See I'm looking into EMS and I have no idea who to go with. Powerhaus is a Motec and TecIII dealer but David is retiring so I need to get with someone who will provide support as I have no clue how to work with it in regards to tuning. Which brings me to my next issue. I need someone close to be able to help me. Cris Carrol is in Phoenix and used to work at Powerhaus. He owns Turbo Craft and deals in AEM EMS. A lot of Supra guys use it and swear by it. I just don't know.
DFASTEST951 is offline  
Old 03-20-2007, 07:41 PM
  #51  
BC
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,467
Default

I have a contact named Walker, but he is in CO now I think. he swears by AEM as well. They will not support you if you buy a honda box and put it on a Porsche, and they will not support you if you put a race box on yourself.
BC is offline  
Old 03-20-2007, 07:56 PM
  #52  
nize
Banned
 
nize's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: seattle, washington - usa
Posts: 1,822
Default

since i've been using AEM, i've found their support is top notch so far. i'm in constant contact directly with their programmers and engineers. i don't know many companies that will provide that kind of after-sale support.
nize is offline  
Old 03-20-2007, 09:57 PM
  #53  
BC
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,467
Default

Well, then there you go. I have always liked AEM. I have bought and sold two of their computers since I Have a habit of hoarding parts I may or may not use in the future. What are you using AEM on? How did you construct the loom if it wasn't plug and play?
BC is offline  
Old 03-20-2007, 10:09 PM
  #54  
facboy
User
 
facboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 861
Default

i think there are 2 separate AEMs...the AEM that most are probably familiar with is the us-based AEM Power...there is an australian company called AEM who are the guys who make the wolf 3d. at least as far as i can tell, unless they're affiliated.
facboy is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 04:53 AM
  #55  
nize
Banned
 
nize's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: seattle, washington - usa
Posts: 1,822
Default

i'm using the wolf3d which is plug and play and comes already tuned/customized for the 951.





nize is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 08:47 AM
  #56  
xtaC
User
 
xtaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maryborough, Queensland, Australia.
Posts: 329
Default

I run a Wolf as well

xtaC is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 12:52 PM
  #57  
BC
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 24,467
Default

Oh.
BC is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 11:49 PM
  #58  
DFASTEST951
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
DFASTEST951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Las Vegas NV
Posts: 2,831
Default

Just got a price estimate on an AEM system. Am off my rocker or is about $7,000 way too much? How much is everyone paying. I also found out that it has two settings for different sea levels but as far as i know, Vitesse engine management automatically adjusts to all sea levels for air and fuel. I must be missing something.
DFASTEST951 is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 11:55 PM
  #59  
nize
Banned
 
nize's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: seattle, washington - usa
Posts: 1,822
Default

lindsey sells the wolf3d for $3500 complete;
http://www.lindseyracing.com/Merchan...ry_Code=WOLF3D

you can probably get it for less directly from bob at randomems.

the wolf automatically adjusts for all sea levels, engine temperature variations, air temp variations, battery voltage variations, and can adjust all of those for the fuel map, ignition timing, and boost control. any or all, your choice.
nize is offline  
Old 03-22-2007, 02:49 AM
  #60  
Raceboy
User
 
Raceboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Estonia
Posts: 1,597
Default

Originally Posted by nize

the wolf automatically adjusts for all sea levels, engine temperature variations, air temp variations, battery voltage variations, and can adjust all of those for the fuel map, ignition timing, and boost control. any or all, your choice.

Umm, this is what every modern managemtn can do. If it cannot compensate for barometric pressure, temperature (both IAT and CLT) and affect fuel+timing based on those changes, then it's not suitable for turbocharged car.
Raceboy is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Standalone EMS...?


Contact Us About Us Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: