Go Back  Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums > Water Cooled Technical Discussion Areas > 928 Forum
Reload this Page >

Auto not shifting into top until I come of the gas ....... Update

Notices
928 Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: 928 Specialists

Auto not shifting into top until I come of the gas ....... Update

 
Old 09-13-2010, 09:10 PM
  #1  
Whitesands
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Whitesands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Navarre/Jay FL, Ex Manchester UK
Posts: 725
Default Auto not shifting into top until I come of the gas ....... Update

Mike, Malcolm and all,

I did as you suggested and changed the ATF and fitted a new filter, last changed 5 years ago and 25k miles so it needed doing, oh and put in a bottle of Trans-X as people seem to rate it.

Next I checked the Bowden cable, I had checked all the cables awhile back, it felt loose i.e. no tension on it so I left it alone but when I popped off the connector it was obvious there was tension on it, I adjusted it so there was no tension and refitted and went for a driveÖ problem fixed, now drops into top smoothly.

Thanks guys.

I know the original buyers were never expected to service these cars but filling that transmission lying underneath is a pain.



My auto transmission wonít change into 4th/top gear unless I come of the throttle and then changes with a thud, all other changes up and down are fine, I think itís the original transmission in which case itís got 288k on it, Iíve checked the ATF level and checked the vacuum line and the modulator, both hold vacuum, I think the cables on the manifold are adjusted right. Iím ok on the rest but autos are a mystery to me.

Could it be something fixable without tearing into it or should I just look for another trannie, itís got to come out as Iím replacing the TT soon.

Any ideas appreciated.

Last edited by Whitesands; 10-13-2010 at 09:03 PM. Reason: Update
Whitesands is offline  
Old 09-13-2010, 09:21 PM
  #2  
86'928S MeteorGrey
User
 
86'928S MeteorGrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Surprise, Arizona
Posts: 1,914
Default

You could try loosening the Bowden cable a turn or two...

Unfortunately, I had the same issue with an 89'S4... I had to shift into neutral and back to drive to get it to upshift... Transmission started slipping badly soon after...

If you can swing the funds, install a superclamp when you have your torque tube out. Are you going with Superbearings?
86'928S MeteorGrey is offline  
Old 09-14-2010, 04:17 PM
  #3  
Whitesands
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Whitesands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Navarre/Jay FL, Ex Manchester UK
Posts: 725
Default

Hi Mike,
I will check the Bowden cable, Re the superclamp and superbearings, not sure which way I'm going yet, if I need another transmission funds will be tight but I know what I should do....
Whitesands is offline  
Old 09-14-2010, 04:21 PM
  #4  
the flyin' scotsman
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
the flyin' scotsman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Southern Alberta, Canada
Posts: 10,614
Default

How old is the tranny oil and filter?

I'd change both and have the level set perfectly before jumping to further conclusions.
the flyin' scotsman is offline  
Old 09-14-2010, 05:06 PM
  #5  
86'928S MeteorGrey
User
 
86'928S MeteorGrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Surprise, Arizona
Posts: 1,914
Default

Originally Posted by the flyin' scotsman View Post
How old is the tranny oil and filter?

I'd change both and have the level set perfectly before jumping to further conclusions.
+1

You said fluid level was correct, but If you havn't changed oil and filter, or it's been more than a year or 10-15K miles, it's a really good idea.
86'928S MeteorGrey is offline  
Old 10-15-2010, 04:08 PM
  #6  
Whitesands
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Whitesands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Navarre/Jay FL, Ex Manchester UK
Posts: 725
Default

The update, hopefully should be below.
Whitesands is offline  
Old 10-15-2010, 04:10 PM
  #7  
Whitesands
Addict
Rennlist Member
Thread Starter
 
Whitesands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Navarre/Jay FL, Ex Manchester UK
Posts: 725
Default

Make that at the top.
Whitesands is offline  
 


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: