Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

DIY - how to remove a broken bolt

Search this Thread

Old 08-13-2010, 03:06 PM
Van
Rennlist Member

Received 92 Likes on 62 Posts
Default DIY - how to remove a broken bolt

I took a video of using the welding method to remove a broken bolt. The bolt in question was an M6 bolt in the aluminum axle carrier of a 996 - it's the bolt that holds the wheel speed (ABS) sensor on.

Anyhow, hopefully some people will find it useful:

Old 08-13-2010, 10:40 PM
Stephenwz968
Three Wheelin'

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Van - thanks for all the instructional videos, they are great!
Old 08-13-2010, 10:49 PM
pontifex4
Drifting

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Van, I'm pretty new to welding: is it necessary to do anything to the nut before welding?
Old 08-13-2010, 11:21 PM
Tom M'Guinn

Rennlist Member

Received 534 Likes on 287 Posts

Thanks Van -- great video. Do you leave the DME connected when you weld on the chassis like that?
Old 08-14-2010, 12:05 AM
Van
Rennlist Member

Originally Posted by pontifex4
Van, I'm pretty new to welding: is it necessary to do anything to the nut before welding?
Nope, it was just a new M8 nut. The zinc coating on the nut gets instantly burned off from the heat.

Originally Posted by Tom M'Guinn
Thanks Van -- great video. Do you leave the DME connected when you weld on the chassis like that?
I did leave the battery hooked up yesterday - it was late and I wanted to be done! But, usually, I try to disconnect the negative battery terminal if I'm welding on a fuel injected car.
Old 08-14-2010, 12:29 AM
Tom M'Guinn

Rennlist Member

Received 534 Likes on 287 Posts

Originally Posted by Van
Nope, it was just a new M8 nut. The zinc coating on the nut gets instantly burned off from the heat.