Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie.. need help.. with 944

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2006, 12:32 AM
elite001
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie.. need help.. with 944

Hello guys,

I just bought myself a used 1985 944 in decent condition.

now the think is it doesnt have any radio/cd player when I bought it, now if I'm thinking to put a stereo at least the one that can play mp3cd, what things should I look for when I am in the market for this stereo sothat it will be compatible with my 944 and can be installed once I found a mechanic that can do it (or is it easy to install by ourselves? anybody can tell me the step by step perhaps?)

I am so sorry that I am really a newbie just trying to find a stereo that is compatible to my 944 sothat I will not waste my money to buy wrong stereo that cannot be install to my car later on. so what should I look for when I try to buy the car stereo in ebay/shop sothat it will be compatible?

thank you
so much
Old 12-06-2006, 12:34 AM
Vjgtrybno1
Rennlist Member

Crutchfields can give you choices for head units that fit - it's the door speakers that are tough - I used an Alpine 9856 head - search threads for speaker choices.
Old 12-06-2006, 01:20 AM
Hoss Ghoul
Instructor

Basic stereo work/installs are easy...do it yourself.

I picked up some JBL's that fit the door(Vince is right, this is the tough fit). The rear speakers are lousy 4x6's. Some people tear into the sail panels and replace these, I decide to cut them out of the loop and just wired in a seperate 6x9 box in the hatch.

I have a Sony X-Plod head unit, which is nothing special, but it is loud with above average sound, no MP3 ability. Theses days you can pick up an Ipod/Mp3 unit for dirt cheap.

I recommend Alpine or Pioneer head units.