Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

resurfacing wheels... how to?

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2005, 04:19 AM
Mighty Shilling
Wax On, Wax Off
Rennlist Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default resurfacing wheels... how to?

Righto. I'm looking to resurface my wheels... AFAIK, the steps taken are as follows:

1)clean up wheels REALLY well...
2)sand surface
3)clean off dust with a paint prep...
4)mask areas not to be painted
5)paint with care
6) coat 2
7)unmask
8)clear
9)clear again
10) carefully mount wheels and tires, put on car, enjoy!

anything wrong there? also, how can I get a mirror finish? Polish or is there a paint for it? what paint do I use for the rest of it? is Duplicolor alright?
Old 09-05-2005, 04:37 AM
shmucklebuckle
Three Wheelin'

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm no paint expert, but I don't see any problem with your process. I don't know about which paints would be best though.
Old 09-05-2005, 04:44 AM
pearldrum944
Drifting

Received 73 Likes on 14 Posts

Looks fine to me. I used duplicolor wheel paint and it worked great. Going with the chrome lip and graphite center?
Old 09-05-2005, 12:47 PM
cjeckert
Drifting

Received 3 Likes on 1 Post