Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

944s Lacks Power...help?

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2004, 03:56 PM
944_S_TYPE
Three Wheelin'

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 944s Lacks Power...help?

Hello, I am new to the rennlist family. I have a engine question about my 87 944S. I am having a hard time getting and low end power out of it. I had the engine out due to an very unexpected wire harness fire....Actually, A Smoky melting mess. It took me a bout 6 months to get a new harness but while the motor was on the stand I replaced almost every sensor on the motor, checked compression and generally detailed the whole engine compartment. and now I am having problems with low end power, It is really doggy and does not seem to improve until I get to about 3000 rpm or Higher.I was thinking timing, Anyone have any suggestions? How do I fine tune the timing? Thank You
Old 02-08-2004, 04:40 PM
mossy
Instructor

I've got a similar problem, low rpm power. Mine started when I changed the engine. Take a plug out and look at it. Does it have a carbon deposit on it??? If so, it could be the same problem that I've got.
If you want, I can talk you through what I've checked so far.
Maybe we both missed something putting the motor back.........?
Mossy
Old 02-08-2004, 04:43 PM
mossy
Instructor

P.S. Timing can only be set up with a pair of dial guages, but if you've just had the engine out it won't have changed.
T.P.S. is a favorite for causing unpredictible running, but I've changed mine and it didn't make that much difference......
Old 02-08-2004, 05:31 PM
joseph mitro
Race Car

Received 246 Likes on 160 Posts

bad fuel injector? i recently replaced a bad #1 fuel injector and the car runs much better now. i had virtually no acceleration with a bad injector, but it seemed to pep up a little at higher rpms. i don't know...just a thought