Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1983 944 Burning up starters?

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2017, 09:58 PM
M Turner
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1983 944 Burning up starters?

Hello everyone. I joined up seeking some input, suggestions or in other words some help with a problem with my elderly father's 1983 944.

I am automotive literate, as I am an off road truck builder and enthusiast. However, I know nothing of these Porsche's, nor am I remotely familiar with them. So, hopefully I should not have any trouble discussing vehicle lingo with you but please be gentle! I don't know German, lol.

My father recently retired and will be moving soon. He wants to bring his Porsche with him but it had not ran for several years due to a bad starter. He ordered one and I replaced it for him. We drove the car around that afternoon only for the starter to fail several hours later.

​​​​​He was able to get a refund and tried a starter through another distributor. I again replaced it for him... and this one went too. Before replacing this one I reviewed the proper wire connections and terminal locations just to be sure I didn't goof it up the first time. But with 2 starters going bad within the same day of replacement, I wonder if there isn't something else going on with the car?

Does anyone have any knowledge whether or not these cars have wiring issues or a knack for burning up starters?

The car has proper battery voltage for starting. And the car always starts right up. But the after several starts, it acts like the drive gear is either not extending or as if there is a dead spot on the flywheel. Then after several attempts like this, it does nothing. Battery still with 12.8v or more.