Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Cone air filter on 944S2?

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2017, 09:53 PM
Otto Mechanic
Rennlist Member

Received 16 Likes on 16 Posts
Default Cone air filter on 944S2?

I'm new to the 944S2 (from a user's perspective, I've owned one for 3 years, never used it) and I'm looking for advice on the maintainability of the stock air filter. When I bought the car I just put an air filter on the list of things to change and now I find out that it's been cleverly hidden behind several body parts and it takes a bit more than 5 minutes to change.

So I'm thinking to myself "Self? what about a cone filter that might be easier to change?"

I understand the forced induction (Ram) on the stock air box might be a real advantage not worth messing with and I'd like opinions on that subject. Could a cone filter be fitted to the S2 in a way that makes it easier to maintain without compromising flow? Is there any hard (dyno) data available? Does it even fit?

I'm willing to put up with an extra 45 minutes of bodywork every month or so if there's a real advantage to the stock design, so I'm looking for experience. This isn't a street car so it will occasionally suffer from off road excursions that will make replacing the filter essential.

Thanks for any advice,
Old 09-13-2017, 11:26 PM
V2Rocket
Rainman
Rennlist Member

Received 662 Likes on 515 Posts

Seen a few S2s set up that way, unaware of any dyno evidence one way or another.
I think the S2 got it under the nose panel because it fit there rather than it behind an optimal spot (since the S2 intake manifold sticks a lot further forward into where the 944S airbox would have otherwise been)