New 87 Carrera owner, roadtrip to pick it up

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-2008, 09:24 PM
cscholz
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New 87 Carrera owner, roadtrip to pick it up

Hi folks,

I wanted to introduce myself - I've been reading here for a bit while doing research. I've just purchased my first Porsche - an 87 Carrera 3.2 Coupe. I found it on consignment at Midwest Performance Cars in Chicago (Tom Simmons is great to deal with). I live outside Boston. So after going out to look at it a few weeks ago and getting a PPI at Midwest Eurosport (across town - top notch Porsche race prep/service shop), I made an offer and I got it! Car has about 105K, top end rebuilt, good repaint, DAS Sport roll bar, Recaro SRD seats, and Sabelt 5-pts. It was only used by a father/son team for two weekend DEs. I'm an instructor for the BMW CCA (hopefully PCA as well soon), so I plan to be taking this car to the track. I'll have a few more questions in that area once I get the car.

So, the car is still out there while a few needs get attended to before I take possession of it. I'm flying back out Sat, 3/15 with a friend and we're doing a roadtrip back that weekend. We'll probably stay Sat night with a relative near Watkins Glen, assuming the weather predicted for that route is decent. Basically we have 2 route choices:

- Rt. 90 just about the whole way through Cleveland, then along the lake through Buffalo, then straight east (this route would get us to the relative Sat night)

OR

- Rt. 80 through Penn. to Scranton and get 84 east from there.

They are about the same distance. Any thoughts on road conditions, likely weather, speed traps or food stops along either route? We won't have a lot of time to visit anything but a decent lunch destination can make the whole day.

I've already got a detailed packing list together that includes a decent set of tools, navigational gear, camera, etc. I'm looking forward to the adventure - that weekend and long after.

Carl