Chain Tensioner

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-2007, 10:00 PM
Tate
Track Day

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Chain Tensioner

Hello Everyone,

As I get closer to picking up my '84 Carrera, I'm reading more about it and having more questions which I need to ask the experts for answers.

I know in '84 the chain tensioner was updated, so does that mean it doesn't need to be changed/serviced?
If so, how often?
How often if need be, does the chain need to be replaced?

The car currently has 94K mikes.

And is the Turbo Tie Rods a must upgrade?
What about the bump steer?

Also, any sites that have a good front strut bar?
I've seen Elephant racing, and WEVO's bars, but just wanting to know if there are other triangular bars.
One last question, does anyone know where or if there is a Rear shock mount brace?

Thank you
Tate
Old 08-12-2007, 11:44 PM
SeattlePorsche
Pro

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Hi Tate,
I am not an expert, but here is what I know... You don't need to service the chain tensioner, and after Porsche fitted it with its own oil line, they never break. I wouldn't change the chains unless you plan on changing the sprockets too. Then you have to re-time the cams. 94k is pretty low miles.