Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

Driving a 911

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-2002, 07:29 PM
a3jedi
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post Driving a 911

Hi guys. I read through all the threads and the information here is great. I don't own a Porsche yet but it is a goal I will achieve before I'm old! Anyways, I wanted to find out how hard/easy it is to drive a 911 whether it's everyday traffic or spirited driving through some curves (i.e. how the postition of the engine affects how you turn). I know that the differences in transmissions plays a factor (915 vs G50) but I just wanted to get a sense from all the 911 owners how driving their cars is different from "normal" cars. Thanks for your replies!
Old 01-24-2002, 07:55 PM
Jgordon
Racer

I'm fairly new to the game, but I'll take a stab at it. There are some cons associated wtih the driving:

You're dealing with an expensive car -- no powershifts, no chirping second -- at least I try to treat the car gently. That doesn't mean driving gently, but I keep in my mind my mechanic's hourly rate.

Your engine's in the back -- no braking in hard cornering, no lifting off the throttle in corners, and generally be aware of the weight distribution.

I have the G50, so I don't regard the transmission as an issue. I tend to think alot about clutch wear in traffic, but the actual driving is not that difficult (I drove my friend's Audi S4 the other day, and his clutch might as well have been a voice command) -- you are in fact pushing against hydraulic fluid, or the cable-operated 915.

Building on that, you are really driving this car. No cadillac-power steering, no ABS, no airbags, and you have to work the clutch and mind your shifts. Personally, I love that, but some don't.