Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

Buying my first Porsche...I'm a newbie

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2004, 10:39 AM
Trent Dyrsmid
Track Day

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Buying my first Porsche...I'm a newbie

Having just returned from a most incredible day at the Nurburg ring in a GT3, I have decided that I can put off buying my first Porsche no longer. I have always wanted a 911/964 so I've come here to ask some advice....

I have $25k USD to invest in a car with intent to add another $3-5K into seats/belts/tires/brakes to get the car in track ready condition.

Anyone care to start me off with what year/models I should focus on? Are there certain things to watch out for? I would dearly love an engine with 300HP, will this be possible?

The slate is wide open, so comment away, and thank you all very much for the help!

See you on the track!

PS: For whatever difference it makes, I'm in Canada
Old 04-29-2004, 02:12 PM
87turbo911
Rennlist Member

You COULD buy a 1986 911 Targa for (relatively) cheap and put a turbo or supercharger in it to get 300HP...and be UNDER budget.

But, then again, maybe I've got ulterior motives.
Old 04-29-2004, 05:32 PM
SandyI
Racer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

There are so many different ways to build a track car. My advice is to buy a car someone else has already poured money into. Maybe attend your local PCA and Porsche Owners Club track events to get an idea of the cars people have built and the cost.
Old 04-29-2004, 07:35 PM
steve g
Burning Brakes

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

Perhaps a higher mileage but unabused early years - 1995 or 1996 993.
Old 04-30-2004, 03:03 AM
hotshoe911
Addict
Rennlist Member

I agree with SandyI about getting together with your local PCA chapter and attend some of their events.

It is much more cost effective to buy a car that is already prept for the track, than to "build" one from scratch. It depends on what you are planning to do with the car.