Sponsored by: Intercity Lines, LLC

High Idle after warm up

Search this Thread

Old 12-18-2019, 10:34 AM
thinkiwanta928
Instructor

Received 13 Likes on 10 Posts
Default High Idle after warm up

I've been driving my 81 911 SC daily for a two months now. Really a lot of fun. Now that I have the outside mirrors adjusted where the lights of the SUV or truck behind me doesn't blind me. I also am wearing yellow lens glasses to calm the glare down of headlights coming towards me.

Upon cold start up, and the air temperature here has been in the 40Fs lately, the engine idles around 1,800 for about one minute, and then drops to 1,100. I allow it to idle for about another 30 seconds to a minute for a little more warm up before driving. After driving a few miles or after driving 30 minutes, the idle is back up to around 1,500-1,600. It is not the throttle plate as I lifted the lid yesterday and ensured the throttle was "closed" at idle setting. So that means either I have a vacuum leak, which I doubt because there are times when fully warm and warmer temperature the idle is at 1,000 - 1,100, or it means one of the two air bypass systems is open and allowing extra air around the throttle plate. This is either the auxiliary air valve or the deceleration valve.

When I had the engine out earlier this year to replace the intake box and renew vacuum hoses, etc., I checked the operation of the auxiliary air valve and it was down to just a sliver of a moon showing when heated up with the 12v source on it. My deceleration valve is not connected to vacuum.

Is it possible to pinch of the "source air" of these two devices by reaching around to the back side of the crossover rubber bellows and pinching the large hose that splits into two branches to see if this drops the idle?

Other thoughts?

Many thanks, Charles in Dallas
Old 12-20-2019, 10:30 AM
thinkiwanta928
Instructor

Update: