Notices

Short Shifter Install

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2008, 08:18 PM
akw
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Short Shifter Install

Hey - any of the Sherway Gardens crew have experience installing short shifters?

I bought one and don't have the faciliites in the condo underground parking or the guts/***** to install it myself.

I could take it to a dealer but this is probably one of the only mods that is simple enough that I could attempt it with some help.

I was wondering if anyone might be willing/able to help me out.

Adam

'08 C4S - Slate Grey
Old 08-28-2008, 09:28 PM
The Stig
Three Wheelin'

Received 12 Likes on 9 Posts

Adam:

I've got no experience with this but I found a couple of threads for you. Did you order the B&M shifter or the factory Porsche one? By all accounts anything other than the factory kit requires you to make some modifications. The Porshce one, although more $$ is a straight drop in. A project like this would be just the excuse I'd need to buy some new tools for the job!

Good luck,

Cliff

https://rennlist.com/forums/showthre...=short+shifter

https://rennlist.com/forums/showthre...=short+shifter

https://rennlist.com/forums/997-forum/180906-shift-kits-b-and-b-vs-oem.html
Old 08-28-2008, 09:29 PM
YYC930
Three Wheelin'

If it is not the factory piece I wouldn't install it. You'll potentially have trouble with the tranny down the road that will result in warranty claims being refused by PCCL.

Been der' done dat.
Old 08-28-2008, 10:09 PM
akw
Racer

Hey Cliff - It's a B&M short shifter from bumper plugs.
Old 08-28-2008, 10:12 PM
akw
Racer

I'm sensing a story here - what happened.

Originally Posted by YYC930
If it is not the factory piece I wouldn't install it. You'll potentially have trouble with the tranny down the road that will result in warranty claims being refused by PCCL.

Been der' done dat.
Old 08-29-2008, 11:00 AM
topspd
Advanced

Received 26 Likes on 13 Posts