Sponsored by:

Brake pad ideas please

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-2012, 08:09 PM
flatsixforme
Burning Brakes

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Brake pad ideas please

I've read a lot of different threads about people's preferred setup for particular cars. I wanted to tap into the brain trust to see what I come up with for my application.

I have a 993 C4S which I converted to a "2" so I have the big red brakes. Stock cooling. My car is 3160 lbs without driver and full fluids...so a giant pig! 80% track car and I do AX and TT events. The AX events are higher speed than what most think of...reaching speeds of 70-90 at most events and tracks are usually about 1.2 miles long. TT events are at the typical SoCal big tracks. I've been running EBC yellowstuff for a few years now and while I feel they are pretty good at the big tracks once well warmed up and I like that they are easy on rotors...for the AX events I barely get them hot each lap and I can feel they don't have the stopping feel like when they are hot. I just had a baby (which is amazing!) and so I expect to do mainly AX events for a year with only a couple big track events sprinkled in.

My goals:
1. to have a pad that has very good stopping ability in the AX setting I will be running mostly for the next year or so (so need a low operating temperature range)
2. Be able to use the same pad at big track events if I choose (however, I can alway put back in the EBC pads if they are better suited)
3. Introduce artificial brake bias more towards the rear by putting in a better "biting" compound in the rear relative to the front.

I'd appreciate any input.
Old 04-23-2012, 09:05 PM
KaiB
Nordschleife Master

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Poker in the back and liqu.....oops!

Pagid: Yellows front and Blacks rear.
Old 04-23-2012, 09:14 PM
Veloce Raptor
Rennlist Member

Received 1,664 Likes on 857 Posts

PFC06 front, PFC01 rear. Much better than Pagids will ever be...
Old 04-23-2012, 09:27 PM
flatsixforme