Sponsored by:

ASK THE COACH

Search this Thread

Old 11-07-2014, 07:09 PM
sierralima
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by ProCoach
the real measure you want to see is GSum on the strip chart, against distance. You need to look at HOW you build that most outlying sample of the friction circle by giving it a SUM number, then looking for dips or ebbs, then a rise again. That would confirm your analysis, which I think is correct.

Have fun!
So I had a year of college physics 20++ years ago and I'm no engineer.... I've watched a couple of tutorials on my AiM...a lot to learn....

Can you tell me more about GSum? I see the following channels on my AiM:

Is this a sum of the lateral and longitudinal g forces? Can you maybe build a math channel for this?

Thanks!
Old 11-07-2014, 07:53 PM
ProCoach
Rennlist
Basic Site Sponsor

Received 3,192 Likes on 1,841 Posts

Yep, make a math channel.

Combined G (GSum) equals square root of ACC_LAT plus ACC_LONG (if you calibrate your Solo DL to use internal accelerometers) or, more simply, use GPS_LatAcc and GPS_LonAcc

It's a snap and if Matt doesn't chime in, I'll respond when I get done prepping the systems I need to send out before leaving for Daytona!

Here's AiM's rather longwinded explanation on how to do it. http://www.aim-sportline.com/downloa...ls_101_eng.pdf

GSum is loaded into the RSA program, you just need to change the channel identifiers to match your logger.
"Combining the Art and Science of Driving Fast!"
Specializing in Professional, Private Driver Performance Evaluation and Optimization
Consultation Available Remotely and at VIRginia International Raceway

Last edited by ProCoach; 11-07-2014 at 09:23 PM. Reason: Bad math expression! I'm not an engineer! For sure.
Old 11-07-2014, 08:20 PM
hf1
Rennlist Member

Received 1,639 Likes on 1,122 Posts

Originally Posted by ProCoach
Yep, make a math channel.