Dual Caliper brakes?

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-2011, 11:36 AM
ubercooper
Three Wheelin'

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Dual Caliper brakes?

2x calipers= 2x braking capacity?

That being said I am no expert on this, but logic would dictate that this would be extremely beneficial on any track car.

Old 04-21-2011, 11:56 AM
kurt M
Mr. Excitement
Rennlist Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

The rotor still gets the same energy dumped into it. One larger one is the same as two smaller ones with less parts and hoses and the like. less issues with clearing tie rods and control arms and the like too.

Cooling is the key in all of the systems. I can lock up a 315 wide tire with an M caliper. How many times before the system soaks up more energy (heat) than it can shed is the question.
Old 04-21-2011, 12:13 PM
stownsen914
Three Wheelin'

Received 292 Likes on 184 Posts

The early 956's had dual calipers, at least in the front. I think the later ones and the 962's had single, larger calipers per wheel. Maybe there wasn't a large enough caliper available when they introduced the 956?

Scott
Old 04-21-2011, 12:54 PM
Land Jet
Rennlist Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Isn't it the tire that ultimately determines how fast the car stops, not the caliper? And isn't heat release the reason for using larger rotors?

A couple of years ago I saw an article on an experimental brake system that was basically a rotor with a 360 degree caliper. Have never seen it again so don't know if it's still being developed or if it proved to be a non-starter.
Old 04-21-2011, 01:07 PM
himself
Rennlist Member

Received 37 Likes on 28 Posts

Originally Posted by ubercooper

That being said I am no expert on this, but logic would dictate that this would be extremely beneficial on any track car.