Notices
Racing & Drivers Education Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

996 box re-gear; anyone been there and done it?

Search this Thread

Old 09-23-2010, 06:45 PM
Ritter v4.0
Rennlist Member

Received 99 Likes on 47 Posts
Default 996 box re-gear; anyone been there and done it?

The ratios are less than optimum on any of the tracks I frequent. With a stock 3.4 (284 whp/248 tq) its essentially a momentum car- albeit relatively quick one. There is not much power below 4.5k rpm and its falling out of the fairly narrow powerband from 3 to 4 which is my meat and potatoes shift.

Basically even on the faster tracks say, Road Atl, I barely get into 5th on the back straight. And use 2nd gear only when there's traffic at T7 and T10A/10B.
I think I'd to close up 3, 4, 5 which would also really benefit at slower venues like Barber.

Or should I just put the money towards a Cup trans (and Cup car to go with it)?

I'm still pretty new to this car so would be interested to hear of others' experiences.
Old 09-23-2010, 09:34 PM
chrisc
Burning Brakes

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

Thanks David, you are breaking my heart! "Essentially a momentum car", jeez you yanked me freaken fenders off at RA as you zoomed by with your wingman, the T-man in his GT3. Also going to sue you and T-man for causing my premature deafness
Old 09-23-2010, 09:46 PM
Larry Herman
Rennlist
Basic Site Sponsor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Plenty of 996 drivers that I raced against in stock class had their transes regeared.
Retired Club Racer & National PCA Instructor
Past Flames:
1994 RS America Club Racer
2004 GT3 Track Car
1984 911 Carrera Club Racer
1974 914/4 2.0 Track Car

CLICK HERE to see some of my ancient racing videos.

Old 09-23-2010, 09:54 PM
ltc
Super Moderator
Needs More Cowbell

Lifetime Rennlist

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

Porsche gearbox ... Brian Copans ... Enough said.
IIRC, he has posted a few times in the Cup car forum.
Old 09-23-2010, 11:04 PM
Chris M.
Rennlist Member