Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

PCA National Instructor Cert or not??

Search this Thread

Old 02-07-2010, 11:32 PM
CCA
Burning Brakes

Received 24 Likes on 18 Posts
Default PCA National Instructor Cert or not??

Alright, I've been instructing for 3-4 years now, usually with the PCA & Chin. I'm trying to plan which events I want to do this year. One is hosting the National Instructor certification program on one of it's 3-days. I have not gone though the program and was wondering if it was worth it. Money is tight and track time precious, so the course fee could be applied to another event if I pass it by. That being said, it's a good opportunity to take it, as it's being offered at my home track. Thoughts?
Old 02-08-2010, 12:56 AM
JR944
Pro

Received 18 Likes on 10 Posts

Take the course. Even after instructing for many years and serving as CDI for 2 regions I found the discussion worthwhile and good reminders of things we should all be doing.

Additionally, if you want to travel and instruct elsewhere, the successful completion of the program gives you some credibility.
Joe
Old 02-08-2010, 09:11 AM
dave morris
Rennlist Member

Received 22 Likes on 12 Posts

+1
Old 02-08-2010, 09:18 AM
Bob Rouleau

Still plays with cars.
Lifetime Rennlist

Received 256 Likes on 119 Posts

Take the course. Some regions are requiring it and a refresher never hurts.
Old 02-08-2010, 09:25 AM
Lemming
Nordschleife Master

Received 86 Likes on 72 Posts

I signed up to do this as well at the end of the month thinking that I would like to be able to travel out of the region to instruct in the future. Got an email on Saturday from the organizer and they have me listed as a "Qualified Mentor", not "Qualified Candidate". Guess I need to call today to find out what's going on. I've been involved with mentoring potential instructors with BMWCCA but not PCA.
Old 02-08-2010, 09:58 AM
JR944
Pro