Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Racing simulator format and gear?

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2009, 11:00 PM
David 23
Burning Brakes

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Racing simulator format and gear?

Ok, I have zero experience and knowledge about video/computer/tv/? racing simulation. I think it might be fun, as I understand it is pretty sophisticated now? So where would I start, what's good, great, widely used? I'd prefer a steering wheel rather than some sort of buttons, so the translation is more realisitc.
Yes, I am an older guy that hasn't done video games, be gentle.
Old 11-26-2009, 11:06 PM
Circuit Motorsports
Addict
Rennlist Member

Rennlist Small
Business Sponsor

Received 10 Likes on 7 Posts

Pedals/Steering Wheel

Logitech G27 or a used G25 to save money

Simulator

Iracing
rFactor
Old 11-26-2009, 11:41 PM
roberga
Nordschleife Master

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I have done some training in the Virtual-GT. Do not have the funds to buy but it is worth it.

http://www.racingsimulators.com/vide...rhead_view.mpg
http://www.virtual-gt.com/
Old 11-27-2009, 01:22 AM
ervtx
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

Start your search at the top, with a Hexatech...

Cruden B.V. – world leading designer and manufacturer of interactive motion-based racing simulators – is offering its new racing simulator as an extreme alternative to popular home gaming equipment for affluent motorsport and performance driving enthusiasts. The Hexatech – a professional full motion simulator with six ‘degrees of freedom’ (6DOF), realistic g-Force simulation up to multiple g’s, seat belt tensioners and 100 per cent realistic steering feedback – is normally found in top secret Formula One factories and automotive research centres. Now, this same sophisticated equipment can provide the definitive motorsport experience at home, with prices for the base simulator package starting at £120,000.

http://www.cruden.com/motorsport/meet-our-simulator/

Well, we can dream, can't we?