Sponsored by:

Rebound Adjustment

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2008, 12:34 PM
Hoosier_Daddy
Rennlist Member

Received 33 Likes on 20 Posts
Default Rebound Adjustment

I want to play with things and would like some thoughts on what to expect… I am no engineer and hope the collective here has some input… I have the adjustability of rebound and figure I should understand it a little more than I do.

Set Up: 700# ft and 900# rear springs with JRZ singles on a 2800 pound 964. Compression is set at 160 psi and for the most part the car feels great other than it might be just a tad bit ahead of me in terms of reaction. The rebound is set at 5 clicks from full soft front and 7 clicks from full soft in the rear. (This was suggested from previous owner who has the same car and weight as I do and had set up the car for his liking in the race series.)

My questions are: What can I expect to feel if I soften the rebound? If I increase the rebound? Any suggestions on how to approach this at the track? Should this be fiddled with only if I intend on messing with the compression as well? (Compression is not adjustable with ***** and I won’t have nitrogen with me at the track)

All suggestions/instruction appreciated.

Old 08-19-2008, 12:43 PM
Seth Thomas
Rennlist Member

Received 250 Likes on 121 Posts

Softening the rebound will cause the suspension to travel faster. For the rear this would mean that under braking with softer rebound the rear will rise up at a faster rate transfering the weight to the front of the car quicker. Same with teh front when you go to the throttle. The front with a softer rebound setting will transfer the weight to teh rear of the car at a quicker rate. This is a similar situation over the bumps too.

Basically the rebound adjustment affects the rate of the suspensions upward travel. Softening rebound will speed the rate up and stiffening the rebound will slow it down.
Old 08-19-2008, 01:06 PM
SundayDriver
Lifetime Rennlist Member