Search this Thread

Old 02-04-2008, 10:49 PM
swftiii
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 17 Likes on 13 Posts
Default 964 Club Racer Build...

Guys,

Yes I have been using the search function and finding some good information, but sometimes it is more fun to hear newer ideas than what is in the archives, so here it goes.

I'm new to the 964 platform (the car will arrive in a week or two), so am learning quickly, but there are many questions I have in setting up the car for Club Racing. Here are a couple of questions to start it off:

1. My car will be a 1991 and therefore have the early 964 rear brake caliper. Can I update it to the 1992+ rear brake caliper without being bumped out of stock class? I'm planning on using Pagid Blacks.

2. What brake rotors have people found hold up the best to track duty - in the 993 world people were most happy with Porsche factory rotors? Is there a cross drilled or other vented rotor option? What is the right answer?

3. What front splitter and rear spoiler setup have people been most pleased with?

4. What auxiliary oil cooler setup have people been the most pleased with?

Just FYI, but I'm already prepared to install the following:
- Moton Club Sports
- RS Sway bars
- Cage - not sure if it will be custom or Safety Devices yet
- BBS RS-GTs (18" x 8"/9.5")
- Putting the rest of the 993 track stuff back in

Thanks,

-Skip
Old 02-04-2008, 10:54 PM
Geoffrey
Nordschleife Master

Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts

1) You can update/backdate within the model range, so you can install the 92 and later 4 piston calipers and remain in the stock class.

2) You can only run the stock rotors. I have found that the difference between OEM rotors and Porsche rotors is often within the balancing where the OEMs have more material ground off. It is usually here where the OEMs prematurely crack. My advice - use Porsche factory rotors for racing.
Old 02-04-2008, 11:19 PM
swftiii
Addict
Rennlist Member