Sponsored by:

How important is corner balancing

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-2007, 09:28 AM
Moving Chicane
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How important is corner balancing

Hi all, kind of a newbie here, so forgive me for the dumb question.

I have a 996 GT3 that I do appx. 6-7 DE's a year and maybe 1 or 2 TT. How important is it to have a corner balance on the car? Because there will be an instructor in the passenger side most of the time, do I compensate the corner balancing for a 200# person on that side or not? Am I over thinking this because of the lack of tracktime this car will see?

I've done an alignment on the car and it feels really good and predictable. I thought I'd post here in this forum to get everyones opinion.
Old 07-11-2007, 09:38 AM
Gary R.
Rennlist Member

Received 255 Likes on 157 Posts

Yes, you're over thinking it but getting the car corner balanced for me is part of the initial track alignment process, as are ride height settings. If the car is stock I wouldn't worry about it until you get to a point where you do more track time or make a change in the car's suspension.
Old 07-11-2007, 09:45 AM
Noel
Burning Brakes

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

Out of the box the GT3 will be more than fine and any adjustments that you make to a non-race car GT3 would be hard to notice IMO. I corner balanced mine, but only because the entire suspension system was replaced/rebuilt so like with Gary's car, it was part of my alignment process.

I often hear people obsessing over 1/2 lb tire pressure adjustments, that is hard for me to take seriously for DE. Part of the learning is learning how to drive around issues IMO.
Old 07-11-2007, 09:53 AM
mitch236
Rennlist Member

Corner balance really comes into play when you are good enough to control weight transfer. Then it becomes very important. You would balance the car without the passenger's weight considered since you should be alone in the car when you are pushing that hard.