Sponsored by:

rebuild or replace caliper?

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2006, 10:47 PM
spazegun2213
Three Wheelin'

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default rebuild or replace caliper?

Alright guys, in my winter tear down I removed my front calipers tonight and this is what they look like.

I'm no expert, but I'm going to assume the seals are really close to shot? They are probably the OEM calipers. Now should i rebuild them (paragon ~$10) or should i just buy rebuilt calipers (paragon ~$40)? I have no idea how hard it is to rebuild a caliper but i figure i could probably do it.

After this and other things i discovered tonight, I'm going to have a shop look over the next car i purchase.
Old 12-12-2006, 11:13 PM
cviles
Unique Title
Rennlist Member

Received 111 Likes on 78 Posts

You've just leaped way beyond my experience...

Anyone, please, I would love to hear your experience and wisdom on this topic, along with your reasoning. I'm still amongst the heathens than that think if it's mushy it must be bled...
Old 12-12-2006, 11:58 PM
J Silverman
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

For $40 each Id just get the rebuilt calipers. Its not hard to rebuild the calipers, Im just lazy. I need rear calipers so Ill probably get a set of rebuilt calipers to put on the car and then rebuild the originals as spares. IIRC paragon didnt have any type of core charge on the calipers.
Old 12-13-2006, 07:28 AM
Alan Herod
Addict
Rennlist
Lifetime Member