Sponsored by:

TD in DC Meets Mr. Tirewall at WG T10; Antithesis of Kingleh

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2006, 07:24 PM
TD in DC
Race Director

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default TD in DC Meets Mr. Tirewall at WG T10; Antithesis of Kingleh

I have always been open about my learning experiences, so I see no reason to change after having my first major off.

As most of you know, I am an intermediate driver who is in Potomac's black run group and racing with 44cup (or rather, has raced and hopes to race again soon). I drive a n/a 944 and currently am focusing on learnign how to conserve momentum without losing smoothness. I am also working on driving closer to the limit through every corner all the time. Why? Because I am very consistent, methodical and conservative. So, I am learning how to inch my way closer and closer to the limit, and keep my car just on this side of the limit through all the turns. This past DE at Watkins Glen, I exceeded the limit at T10 and hit the tirewall. It was 100% driver error.

The fatal run session was the first session of the second day of a three day event. The first day had gone extremely well. I had been turning lap times of 2:27-2:28, with an occasional 2:26, on nine month old Toyo RA1s. I had been methodically working on increasing my entry speed and, in some turns, including T10, moving my turn-in point up based upon how much room I had at track out. Mark Francis rode with me, and I think he can verify that, while I can certainly drive faster, I wasn't really having any "problems" anywhere on the track.

On the first day, my car felt like it was on rails. I had been doing very well in T9, and then taking T10 at full throttle with no braking or lifting before entry, provided that traffic allowed. I never skidded in the corner, and I always had plenty of room at track out. Data shows that I was entering T10 at a speed of 87.5 mph, which is about all I think I can do in my car.