In car video Camcorder recommendations

Search this Thread

Old 09-28-2004, 11:26 AM
RJay
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default In car video Camcorder recommendations

I've been thinking about buying a new video camera for in car to replace my old outdated HI-8. It would seem that the solidstate stuff is just not up to snuff yet (Fischer and D-Snap) so I've been contemplating a DVD based camcorder. I'm a bit worried about how vibration might affect a DVD-based recorder. Has anyone tried to using one of the beasts on track? Particularly interested in the Sony as apparently its seems to have the best steady shot stuff.
Old 09-28-2004, 12:22 PM
BrokeAss
Driver Carries No Cash
Rennlist Member

Although I have no personal experience with a DVD based camera, I seriously doubt it would work in the car. The vibrations would just kill it.

I use and would recommend a mini-dv camera. They shoot in 100% digital straight to tape. You can plug it into your computer and edit as necessary.

Most importantly - get a camera that has a threaded lens. You want to be able to screw in a wide angle lens. Without the wide angle lens you often wind up with a great video of your rear view mirror. With the wide angle lens on my camera I can see nearly the entire dash and 85% of the steering wheel.

I also like to shoot the video in 16:9 wide screen format. (Great if you have a wide screen tv set!)
Old 09-28-2004, 01:33 PM
JackOlsen
Race Car

Received 62 Likes on 48 Posts

One option is to put the camcorder in a padded case, and let a lipstick camera function as your actual lens (piping video into the camera through a port). This allows you to put a camera in a number of different places, saves the vibration damage to the camera, and even allows you to avoid the expense and weight of a heavy camera mount.

To give you an idea, here's a Quicktime clip (3.7 megs) of a couple of my recent offs that I shot by putting the lipstick camera on the wing of my car.