Sponsored by:

987.2 S Mostly Track Car: Ohlins R&T vs KWv3

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2022, 07:08 PM
PTSFX
Rennlist Member

Received 327 Likes on 156 Posts
Default 987.2 S Mostly Track Car: Ohlins R&T vs KWv3

Getting ready to pull the trigger on new suspension for my 2010 Cayman S and found a few threads asking a similar question, but they are all quite old so I figured I'd seek any new opinions.

For some background, I drive the car 1-2x per week just to keep the fluids moving and battery happy, drive it 2.5 hours each way to the track (Sebring) and do probably 15-20 track days a year. Both my wife and I drive the car on the track, so it gets 4-5 hours of track time per day. I'm a fairly skilled driver, have had pro coaching, etc, but in recent years have dialed back from driving 10/10ths and focused on every 1/2 second to drive 9/10ths and just have fun (so from mid/high 2:2X at Sebring to low 2:3X for those that the reference makes sense). My wife just recently went solo, so she's in the high 2:4X and getting faster all the time.

Plan on doing sway bars, end links, LCAs, etc. while the car is in pieces already. I'm leaning towards KW mostly for the linear springs as I had those on my last track car and preferred that feel, but just looking for any real-world feedback from HPDE junkies that have experience with either/both?
Old 01-06-2022, 07:38 PM
85Gold
Rennlist Member

Received 730 Likes on 426 Posts

I have the same car and went with the Ohlins and have been extremely pleased. Ohlins have linear springs. You might have seen my car it is Black #61 and I run NASA TT3 and Chin red group.

Peter

Last edited by 85Gold; 01-06-2022 at 07:39 PM.
The following 2 users liked this post by 85Gold:
PTSFX (01-06-2022), steved0x (01-10-2022)
Old 01-06-2022, 11:03 PM
jscott82
Rennlist Member

Received 364 Likes on 239 Posts