For Instructors - PSM

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2004, 06:37 PM
Bob Rouleau

Still plays with cars.
Lifetime Rennlist

Received 255 Likes on 119 Posts
Default For Instructors - PSM

A thing that concerns me is the increase in speed in low run groups at DE. The new cars are a lot easier to drive fast. The low run groups are now much faster than they were five years ago.

A contributing factor is PSM. I wish Porsche had thought to include a warning buzzer triggered by PSM to alert the driver (and instructor). In my region we are getting a lot of keen newcomers who habitually drive the car so as to invoke PSM. As we know, PSM on late models cannot be completely turned off without modifying the car. Switch it off and it turns back on again if you apply the brakes firmly.

As a PCA instructor I don't think people should be driving in such a way as to need PSM to handle a corner. Yes I am aware that PSM is over-zealous and leaps into action even when the slip angle is perfectly acceptable to a good driver. On the other hand I have seen it save drivers from a spin or crash and worst of all, the driver is unaware that the electronics have just saved him.

I now make it a habit to inspect the rear rotors of a new student's car. PSM leaves evidence especially in the back. When I see rear rotors which are more worn than fronts I get extra wary.

In the car, it is hard to see the flashing triangle - besides I am looking where we are going or looking at my student to see where he/she is looking. Sometimes I can feel PSM - the car feels like it hit a bump which I know isn't there. I have followed a 996 TT in an uphill turn and seen puffs of tire smoke from a rear wheel! I got in the car next session and it felt as if the car had hit a fairly crude pavement joint. There was none. The driver was unaware that anything was abnormal.

I'd like to compile a list of hints on how to recognize the onset of PSM using only our seat of the pants and or eyes.

Best,