Notices
Racing & Drivers Education Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

The complete 991.1 HPDE questions, and hopefully answers...

Old 04-22-2018, 11:25 AM
zoiks
Rennlist Member

Received 21 Likes on 14 Posts
Default The complete 991.1 HPDE questions, and hopefully answers...

Folks, I bought a 991.1 C2S a few weeks ago and hope to continue doing 4 or so HPDE's per year. I have about 14 years of experience and I am a PCA HPDE instructor. This is my first Porsche (love it!) and I am headed to get it ready for HPDE. My previous car had a StopTech 4-piston BBK with the 2-piece floating rotors which I loved. I would run Hawk DTC-70 front, HT-10 rear and I loved this combination. I really like the initial bite of the DTC-70's and the finesse that it took to modulate the brakes. I had tons of tire options and would usually run the Bridgestone RE-71R's or some Dunlop Direzza's. I could always find really good deals on those tires. I also had adjustable camber arms and would typically run -3.0 to -3.3 degrees negative camber. From what I've seen at the track the Porsche's can run with a lot less camber and have good even tire wear. I have several questions that I hope folks can help me with:
  1. Rear 295's or 305's? The prices don't look a lot different. Is there any preferences folks have for HPDE's? I know there is lot more to just going wider.