Sponsored By:

Cayenne Turbo vs Diesel vs Macan 4-cylinder

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2016, 04:21 PM
deilenberger
Banned

Received 1,143 Likes on 759 Posts
Default Cayenne Turbo vs Diesel vs Macan 4-cylinder

Well, went to a local dealership open house today - free breakfast and free drives of the new 2017 Macan 4 cylinder (VW engine all day long..) Drove there in the 2016 Cayenne Diesel loaner I've been using since my 2011 Turbo has been up on a lift in their garage for 3 weeks now.. (long story I'll tell sometime..)

The Macan is very familiar territory to anyone who owns a Cayenne. You'd be hard pressed to tell the difference sitting behind the wheel. Handing is adequate. The 4 cylinder? Well - not too Porsche like. I liked the PDK transmission pretty much, shifts are quick and responsive.

Left in non-sport mode the 4-cylinder is best thought of as somewhat lethargic. It goes, but it doesn't excite. Pressing the sport mode button makes it more interesting - but it's still shifting below the peak powerband. Shifting manually allows it to finally rev - but when it gets to 6,000 RPM and above, it sort of runs out of breath and sounds very busy.

It would be quite adequate as a grocery getter sort of appliance.. the one I drove was stickered at $67,000 - a few accessories kicked it up from $50k base price. It was fairly well equipped, but no active cruise on it - which once you have it is a must-have. It did have KESSY.