Notices

Anti-seize on lug nuts?

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-2006 | 09:26 PM
zimpwh
Instructor

Default Anti-seize on lug nuts?

I attended a DE this past weekend and another driver was using anti-seize on his lug nuts...I've never seen this application. Is this recommended? Thanks ahead.
Old 10-30-2006 | 10:54 PM
Steve Weiner-Rennsport Systems
RL Technical Advisor

Never put anti-seize on the threads,.......just on the shoulder of the lug nuts.

Thats been the specified procedure from the Factory since 1967 when they began using Fuchs wheels.

Last edited by Steve Weiner-Rennsport Systems; 10-31-2006 at 03:02 AM.
Old 10-31-2006 | 12:40 AM
Jim Michaels
Rennlist Member

What!!!??? I've been doing it backwards for over 20 years!
Old 10-31-2006 | 03:03 AM
RL Technical Advisor

Originally Posted by Jim Michaels
What!!!??? I've been doing it backwards for over 20 years!
LOL,..You're in good company; most people do the very same thing you do,...
Old 10-31-2006 | 11:41 AM
Jim Michaels
Rennlist Member

Maybe more people read the owner's manual than we thought. My Cayman S owner's manual recommends the application of anti-seize to the threads of the lug bolts, and between the back of the nut skirt and the back of the shoulder piece that torques against the wheel. No anti-sieze would be torqued against the wheel in that case.
Old 10-31-2006 | 04:54 PM
JasonAndreas
Technical Guru
Rennlist Member

The torque spec for the wheel mounting bolts on a 964 and 993 calls for the threads to be lubed. For models prior this might be covered in a TSB from 5/85 and for the 996 and newer models Porsche specs , "Thinly grease thread, shank and under head (between screw head bearing surface and spherical cap ring) of the wheel bolts with Optimoly TA (aluminum paste). Do not grease bearing surface of the spherical cap facing the wheel. If heavily contaminated, clean bolts first with a lint-free cloth."
Old 10-31-2006 | 11:57 PM
Jim Michaels
Rennlist Member