Notices

Independent Shop Lowell, MA

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2019, 11:13 PM
Rico_FL
Instructor

Received 30 Likes on 18 Posts
Default Independent Shop Lowell, MA

Does anyone know of a shop/dealer that would be willing to perform a PPI on a 996 Turbo Cab in Lowell MA?
Car is located in Drum Hill area.

Thank you
Old 09-10-2019, 09:17 AM
The Fat Kid
Pro

Received 41 Likes on 33 Posts

Eurotech in Framingham, MA is a great shop. Bill has done maintenance on my 991, and did all my PCA-track inspections. Bill is awesome and usually works seven days/week, so he might be able to squeeze you in on a weekend. http://www.eurotechracecars.com/

KMC in Lawrence, MA is another highly regarded Porsche shop. Track friends use them, but I have no first-hand experience. https://kmcauto.com/
Old 09-12-2019, 11:23 AM
jkoravos
Pro

Received 126 Likes on 99 Posts

I'm 2 minutes from Drum Hill. I looked at the car you're considering. It has a really attractive spec but the car is beat. I didn't want to get into a project and I doubt they would've taken what it was really worth. If you can get them to take $32k, maybe, but I bet you'd be into it for over $40k-45k to get it in nice condition, especially if you address all the interior issues. And, FYI, a few months back they had it listed for $39k.

This was my recap on another forum after I drove it, about a month ago:

I drove this car today...what a ****show...

-A/C doesn't work
-Interior is beat (which is too bad, it has an awesome interior package)
-Trunk release doesn't work, they had a wire rigged up through the front grill to pop the hood
-Spoiler doesn't work (new spoiler hydraulics on these cars is ~$2000)
-Missing one of the rear seats
-It had a shimmy during the test drive, probably a major suspension issue since it would be crazy not to align a car you're selling
-THE FECKING CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON DURING THE TEST DRIVE