Notices

How much to buff if my C4S paint thickness is 100 um??

Search this Thread

Old 10-15-2010, 09:55 PM
Mabuhay
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question How much to buff if my C4S paint thickness is 100 um??

Hello everyone! I'm on the verge of buffing out my C4S. If the paint thickness is around 100 um, how much of it do I take off?

OR, does someone know how thick the clearcoat is and how thick the paint is on a 2004 C4S?

I.e. - I definitely don't want to be buffing out all the clear coat. That would really be NOT GOOD.
Old 10-15-2010, 10:08 PM
chopperzz
Burning Brakes

I'm not a pro in this business, but i am perplexed by your question. Is it possible to know the thickness of clear?
What is the chance that all areas have the exact thinkness of clear?
If you buff with a machine, to a specific thickness, how do you manage the depth of the machine, to be the same everywhere?
Old 10-15-2010, 10:09 PM
Marine Blue
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 801 Likes on 465 Posts

Has the car been buffed out in the past?

The amount to buff out really depends on the condition of the paint. If it has light swirls you really only need a mild polish to perform the right amount of correction. If you have deeper swirls and scratches you'll need a more aggressive polish to level the paint. Some times it doesn't make sense to chase really deep scratches as it will remove too much paint and you're better off leaving it alone.

Posting some close up pictures would certainly help to determine what type of corrective polishing is required.

Also what type of equipment are you going to use to buff the paint, rotary or dual action?
Old 10-15-2010, 10:24 PM
Cosmin
Advanced

do this:
measure the inside of the door , and compare with what you got initially , that will tell you how much clear you deal with , remember the car has thin spots too , and readings are just an info of the car paint history , is not really accurate.