Notices
Cayenne 958 - 2011-2018 2nd Generation
Sponsored By:
Sponsored By:

Prepping for brake rotor replacement - what "oilspray" for future dismantling?

Search this Thread

Old 11-30-2021, 01:26 PM
flyaflya
6th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Prepping for brake rotor replacement - what "oilspray" for future dismantling?

After being quoted $1600 for front brakes by my local dealer and seeing on youtube that rotor replacement is not hard (I am new to this), I ordered myself a brake kit for my 2016 Porsche Cayenne Base from FCP Euro (https://www.fcpeuro.com/products/por...r-9583514030kt). After reading the installation instructions, Zimmerman does not want ceramic paste (or similar coating) to be used between rotor and hub. I assume this is due to the Z-coating, but am not sure. Here is a quote from their website that echoes the installation instructions that come with the rotors:
  • "Do not apply any grease or similar products. A thin layer of oilspray can be applied for an easier dismantling."
My question is what oilspray to use on the hub? I believe WD-40 qualifies as an oil spray, but am not sure. Is WD-40 what Zimmerman has in mind?

THX!
Old 11-30-2021, 03:58 PM
Quadcammer
Race Director

Received 1,418 Likes on 818 Posts

I think they are trying to avoid someone globbing on some thick substance that may cause some runout on the rotor. You can coat the hub with a thin spread of engine oil or antiseize, but make sure its a skim coating only.
The following users liked this post:
flyaflya (12-07-2021)
Old 11-30-2021, 10:27 PM
porschedad_73
Instructor

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

I didn't apply anything when I replaced my front rotors. My dealer quoted me similar price to just get the fronts done so I did it myself and went the FCP Euro route as well. You won't regret it. Well worth the $$ saved.
flyaflya (12-07-2021)
Old 12-01-2021, 12:17 AM
jtsmith18
Racer

Received 95 Likes on 78 Posts